Monyash, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Monyash, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Monyash St Leonard Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Bakewell|
|Parish registers: 1754|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1672|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MONYASH, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 4¾ miles (W. S. W.) from Bakewell. It became a parish in 1744. There is a meeting-house for the Society of Friends, and the Primitive Methodists have a place of worship. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Monyash parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Monyash St Leonard (1754) Parish Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Monyash on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 334-340. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.