Montserrat Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Montserrat Wiki Topics
Flag of Montserrat.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Montserrat Background
Local Research Resources
Caribbean
Montserrat
Guide to Montserrat ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Montserrat is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom. The official language is English.[1]

On 18 July 1995, the previously dormant Soufrière Hills volcano, in the southern part of the island, became active. Eruptions destroyed Montserrat's Georgian era capital city of Plymouth. Between 1995 and 2000, two-thirds of the island's population was forced to flee, primarily to the United Kingdom, leaving fewer than 1,200 people on the island as of 1997 (rising to nearly 5,000 by 2016). The volcanic activity continues, mostly affecting the vicinity of Plymouth, including its docking facilities, and the eastern side of the island around the former W. H. Bramble Airport, the remnants of which were buried by flows from volcanic activity on 11 February 2010.

An exclusion zone that extends from the south coast of the island north to parts of the Belham Valley was imposed because of the size of the existing volcanic dome and the resulting potential for pyroclastic activity. Visitors are generally not permitted entry into the exclusion zone, but it has been relatively quiet since early 2010.

A new town and port are being developed at Little Bay, which is on the northwest coast of the island. While this construction proceeds, the centre of government and businesses is at Brades.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Montserrat Research

Links to articles on getting started with Montserrat research.

Montserrat Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Montserrat research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Montserrat Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Montserrat. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Little Bay, Montserrat
Saint PeterSaint GeorgesSaint AnthonyMontserrat.png
About this image


Parishes

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Montserrat. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

England and Ireland 1632, France 1666, England 1671.[2]

Montserrat has three parishes:

Montserrat also has an extinct parish:

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Montserrat," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montserrat, accessed 25 April 2016.
  2. Christina K. Schaefer, Genealogical Encyclopedia of the Colonial Americas: a Complete Digest of the Records of All the Countries of the Western Hemisphere (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1998), 127. WorldCat 39622039; FHL Ref Book 929.11812 D26s.