Montmorency County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Michigan Genealogy
Montmorency County

Guide to Montmorency County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Montmorency County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 1, 1840
County Seat Atlanta
Courthouse
Address Montmorency County Courthouse
12265 M-32
P. O. Box 789
Atlanta, MI 49709
Phone: 989-785-8022
Phone: 517-785-4794
Montmorency County Website


County Information

Montmorency County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1867 1867 1820 1839 1867

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth, marriage, and death records from 1881,
divorce and court records from 1940 and military records from 1920. [2]

History

Parent County

1840--Montmorency County was created 1 April 1840 from Mackinac County. Formerly Cheonoquet County until name changed to Montmoerency 8 March 1843. It was attached to Mackinac, Cheboygan, and Alpena Counties prior to organization 21 May 1881. County seat: Atlanta [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1942 County Courthouse burned, destroying the Prosecuting Attorney’s records. Surviving records were moved to the Community Hall.
1943 Community Hall holding records that survived the 1942 fire burned, destroying all county documents, except birth, death, and marriage statistics.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Some of the populated places still in Montmorency County, MI, are the towns of Hillman, Atlanta, Lewiston, Vienna, and the area of Canada Creek.  None of them have more than a blinking light for traffic signals so that gives an idea of how rural the county is.  Since the lumbering era, many other smaller area have become little more than crossroads known by the locals by the names of the towns they used to be during that times.  Submitted by Ella Purkiss Accredited Genealogist and resident of Montmorency County

Neighboring Counties

Alcona  • Alpena  • Cheboygan  • Crawford  • Oscoda  • Otsego  • Presque Isle

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Montmorency County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Mimontmorency.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montmorency County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Montmorency and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth
Marriage
  • 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch.  Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
Death
  • 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 --  Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch.   Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.

Societies and Libraries

Lewiston Historical Society
PO Box 461
4384 Michelson Avenue
Lewiston MI 49756
Telephone: 989-786-2451

Montmorency County Historical Society
McKenzie One-Room School
M-33 N (Montmorency County Fair Grounds)
Atlanta, MI 49709
Telephone: 989-742-4218
Mailing Address:
PO Box 252
Hillman, MI 49746
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montmorency County, Michigan page 349, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).