To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Montgomery County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Norristown
Organized: September 10, 1784
Parent County(s): Philadelphia[1]
Neighboring Counties
Lehigh  • Berks  • Philadelphia  • Delaware  • Chester  • Bucks
See County Maps
Courthouse
Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Montgomery County PA Map.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Pa-rootsbuttonwiki.gif This page adopted by:
PA Roots and its members
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county is located in the South Central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Courthouse
2 E Airy St
P.O. Box 311
Norristown, PA 19404-0311
Phone: 610-278-3224
Office of the Prothonotary Phone: 610-278-3360
Recorder of Deeds Phone: 610-278-3289
Register of Wills/Orphan's Court Phone: 610-278-3400
Montgomery County Website

Office of the Prothonotary is responsible for recording and filing a wide variety of legal papers such as: personal injury, medical malpractice, divorce, custody, protection from abuse, judgments, change of name, District Justice appeals, processes passport applications, Federal income tax liens, and administers oaths and affirmations. Orphan's Court issues marriage licenses and has charge over petitions for adoptions. Recorder of Deeds collects deeds, mortgages, and other land records for the county. Register of Wills probates wills processes intestate estates and is an agent for the Commonwealth in collecting inheritance taxes. Records of all persons born in Montgomery County between 1893 and 1915 can be found here; after 1915, records were filed with the Department of Health.

Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1885 1893 1784 1784 1784 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1906. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

No counties were formed from Montgomery County.

For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania:


Home Rule Muncipalities

  • Bryn Athyn
  • Cheltenham Township
  • Horsham Township
  • Norristown
  • Plymouth Township
  • Whitemarsh Township

Boroughs

  • Ambler
  • Bridgeport
  • Collegeville
  • Conshohocken
  • East Greenville
  • Green Lane
  • Hatboro
  • Hatfield
  • Jenkintown
  • Lansdale
  • Narberth
  • North Wales
  • Pennsburg
  • Pottstown
  • Red Hill
  • Rockledge
  • Royersford
  • Schwenksville
  • Souderton
  • Telford
  • Trappe
  • West Conshohocken

Townships

  • Abington
  • Douglass
  • East Norriton
  • Franconia
  • Hatfield
  • Limerick
  • Lower Frederick
  • Lower Gwynedd
  • Lower Merion
  • Lower Moreland
  • Lower Pottsgrove
  • Lower Providence
  • Lower Salford
  • Marlborough
  • Montgomery
  • New Hanover
  • Perkiomen
  • Salford
  • Skippack
  • Springfield
  • Towamencin
  • Upper Dublin
  • Upper Frederick
  • Upper Gwynedd
  • Upper Hanover
  • Upper Merion
  • Upper Moreland
  • Upper Pottsgrove
  • Upper Providence
  • Upper Salford
  • West Norriton
  • West Pottsgrove
  • Whitpain
  • Worcester

Communities

  • Ardmore
  • Ardsley
  • Audubon
  • Bala Cynwyd
  • Barren Hill
  • Bethayres
  • Blue Bell
  • Bryn Mawr
  • Crestmont
  • Dresher
  • Eagleville
  • Elkins Park
  • Erdenheim
  • Evansburg
  • Flourtown
  • Fort Washington
  • Gilbertsville
  • Gladwyne
  • Glenside
  • Graterford
  • Gulph Mills
  • Halfway House
  • Harleysville
  • Haverford
  • Hollywood
  • Horsham
  • Huntingdon Valley
  • Jarrettown
  • King of Prussia
  • Kulpsville
  • Lafayette Hill
  • La Mott
  • Laverock
  • Linfield
  • Maple Glen
  • Montgomeryville
  • Meadowbrook
  • Melrose Park
  • Merion
  • Miquon
  • Mont Clare
  • Noble
  • North Hills
  • Oaks
  • Oreland
  • Penn Wynne
  • Perkiomenville
  • Plymouth Meeting
  • Port Indian
  • Port Providence
  • Pottsgrove
  • Prospectville
  • Rosemont
  • Roslyn
  • Roychester
  • Rydal
  • Sanatoga
  • Skippack
  • Spring House
  • Spring Mount
  • Stowe
  • Three Tons
  • Trooper
  • Villanova
  • Wayne
  • Willow Grove
  • Wyncote
  • Wyndmoor
  • Wynnewood
  • Zieglersville

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Indentured Servants

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe. Online at: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes list of imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Montgomery County, Pennsylvania online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links and tips on using Federal (or United States) census records online for Montgomery County, see: Pennsylvania Census.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.

County-wide Database - Multi-denominational

Montgomery County Pennsylvania Churches
  • 1682-1800 Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, Montgomery County, 1682-1800. Washington, D.C.: Humphrey Pub., 1993. FHL Book 974.812 K2h.
Contains baptisms of Abington Friends Monthly Meeting, Lower Merion Friends, Abington Presbyterian Church, Gwynedd Friends Monthly Meeting, Lower Dublin or Pennypack Baptist, Augustus Evangelical Lutheran Church at Trappe, New Goshenhoppen Reformed, St. Paul's Lutheran at Red Hill, New Hanover Lutheran, Falkner Swamp Reformed, Horsham Friends Monthly Meeting, Old Goshenhoppen Lutheran, Indian Creek Reformed, Indianfield Lutheran, St. Luke's Reformed at Trappe, Wentz's Reformed, Boehm's Reformed, Old Goshenhoppen Reformed Church, St. Paul's Lutheran at Barren Hill, Trinity Reformed at Pottstown, St. Paul's Lutheran at Ardmore, St. John's Lutheran at Centre Square, Emanuel Lutheran at Pottstown, St. Peter's Lutheran in North Wales Township, St. Thomas Protestant Episcopal, Plymouth Friends Monthly Meeting, records of Rev. John Casper Stoever (Lutheran), and records of Rev. Henry Melchior Muhlenberg (Lutheran).
Contains the church records of:
  • Ambler: Calvary United Methodist Church; Trinity Episcopal Church
  • Anconia Township: Anconia Mennonite Cemetery Gravestone Inscriptions; Salford Mennonite Church
  • Ardmore: Methodist Episcopal Church; United Methodist Church
  • Barren Hill: St. Peter's Lutheran Church
  • Blue Bell: Boehm's Reformed Church (United Church of Christ)
  • Bridgeport: Christ Church
  • Collegeville: Skippack Brethren Cemetery; Trinity Christian Church; Trinity Reformed Cemetery
  • Conshohocken: Calvary Church; Calvary Episcopal Church
  • Eagleville: Lower Providence Presbyterian Church
  • East Greenville: New Goshenhoppen United Church of Christ
  • Elkins Park: Church of the Annunciation
  • Fairview: Riton Brethren Cemetery
  • Flourtown: David H. Kollock III Funeral Homes, Record Books; First Presbyterian Church
  • Franconia: Indian Creek Reformed Church
  • Harleysville: Vincent Mennonite Cemetery
  • Lansdale: Plains Mennonite Cemetery
  • Limerick: James Union Lutheran and Reformed
  • Lower Salford Township: Salford Mennonite Church
  • Marion: Westminster Cemetery Company
  • Montgomeryville: Montgomery Square United Methodist
  • New Hanover: New Hanover Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Norristown: Christ United Church of Christ; St. John's Episcopal Church; St. John's Episcopal Church (2)
  • Oaks: Germantown Ministry Church of the Brethren
  • Obelisk: St. Luke's Lutheran Church
  • Plymouth: Reverend L O Knipp Diary and Pastoral Record
  • Potts Grove: Presbyterian Church
  • Pottstown: Christ Episcopal Church; Trinity United Church of Christ
  • Prospectville: Prospectville Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Rockhill: Rockhill Mennonite Church
  • Roxborough: St. Timothy's Episcopal Church; St. Timothy's Protestant Episcopal Church [sic]
  • Schwenksville: Mennonite Cemetery
  • Skippack: Charles M. Pool Undertaker Records; Lower Skippack Mennonite Cemetery; Neutralist Newspaper; Upper Skippack Mennonite Cemetery; Warren G. Bean Ministerial Records
  • Towamencin Township: Towamencin Mennonite Cemetery Gravestone Inscriptions
  • Trappe: Frank W. Shalkop Undertaker Records
  • Upper Frederick Township: Riton Brethren Cemetery
  • Upper Hanover: Gehman Family Papers
  • Upper Providence: Providence Mennonite Cemetery
  • Worcester: Worcester Mennonite Cemetery

Episcopalian

St. James's Church, Perkiomen

Early registers, which began in 1730, are lost. Surviving registers date from 1800.[6]

For a history, read:

  • Barrow, A.J. "St. James's, Perkiomen," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 19 (1895):87-95. For free online access, see WeRelate.

St. Thomas's Church, Whitemarsh

Early registers "were destroyed in the Revolution."[6]

Lutheran

Augustus Evangelical Lutheran Church, Trappe

Indianfield Lutheran Church, Franconia Township

Lutheran Church, New Hanover

  • 1745-1809 Marriage Record of the Lutheran Church, New Hanover, Montgomery County, PA., 1748-1800 (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 2, Vol. 8, Part 7) at Ancestry ($); Google Books

Lutheran Church, Old Goshenhoppen

St. Peter's Yellow Church, North Wales Township

  • 1787-1856 Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1787-1856: St. Peter's Yellow Church, North Wales Township at Ancestry ($). Births, marriages, deaths.

Methodist

  • 1920 Directory, First Cheltenham Methodist Episcopal Church, Cheltenham, Pa. ... February, 1920 at Ancestry ($).

Presbyterian

Ashbourne Presbyterian Church, Elkins Park

Presbyterian Church, Abington

Reformed

Boehm's Reformed Church

  • Directory, Boehm's Reformed Church ... Blue Bell Montgomery County, Pa., founded 1740 ... at Ancestry ($).

Indian Creek Reformed Church

  • 1753-1851 Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1753-1851: Indian Creek Reformed Church at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages.

Reformed Church, Falkner Swamp

  • 1748-1800 Marriage Record of the Reformed Church, Falkner Swamp, Montgomery County, PA., 1748-1800 (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 2, Vol. 8, Part 6) at Ancestry ($); Google Books
  • 1748-1854 Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1748-1854: Falckner Swamp Reformed Congregation at Ancestry ($). Births, marriages, deaths.

St. Paul's Memorial Church

  • Directory, St. Paul's Memorial Church ... Oaks, Pa. ... Lent, 1926 at Ancestry ($).

Trinity Reformed Church, Pottstown

  • 1770-1865 Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1770-1865: Trinity Reformed Church of Pottstown at Ancestry ($). Births, marriages, deaths.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.

Indentured Servants

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe. Online at: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes list of imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[8]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.

Land records in Montgomery County began in 1850. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Norristown, Pennsylvania.

Online Land Indexes and Records

https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/b/b0/Montgomery_county_pennsylvania_townships.pngMontgomery county pennsylvania townships.png
About this image

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Philadelphia CountyDelaware CountyChester CountyBerks CountyLehigh CountyBucks CountyPA MONTGOMERY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Maps

  • Maps of Pennsylvania (1673-1878)
  • Ancestor Tracks has posted free downloadable images from the 1868 Barnes' Driving Map of Philadelphia and Surroundings. This wall map located in the Library of Congress shows major landowner and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not to be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
  • United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Montgomery County(over 2000)
    (may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to Montgomery County for European settlers included:

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
Local newspapers published obituaries on many Montgomery County Revolutionary War veterans. Summers abstracted these records and his article is available for free online:

  • Summers, William. "Obituary Notices of Pennsylvania Soldiers of the Revolution," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 38 (1914):443-460. For free online access, see WeRelate.

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.

Newspapers of Montgomery County

Online Newspapers

To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.

Online Obituary Abstracts

Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts

  • Summers, William. "Obituary Notices of Pennsylvania Soldiers of the Revolution," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 38 (1914):443-460. For free online access, see WeRelate.

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate matters in Montgomery County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.

In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Pottstown, PA High School: 1941 Football Team Photo with names of individuals.

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1798 Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.

  • The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:
  • 1841-1966 Delayed Birth Certificates
  • 1852-1855 Birth, Marriage and Death Records
  • 1885 to present Marriage Records, with bride and groom index
  • 1893-1915 Birth and Death Records

Birth[edit | edit source]

Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:

  • 1726-1930 Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
  • 1841-1966 Delayed Birth Certificates
  • 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Births Ancestry $
  • 1852-1855 Birth Records
  • 1893-1895 Montgomery County Birth Index 1893-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.[7]
  • 1893-1915 Birth Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officals. Contact Montgomery County Courthouse

The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:

Marriage records older than 25 years are not available at the courthouse. These records need to be brought in from an off site storage facility. When the record has been brought to the courthouse, the patron will be notified and may pick up the record at that time.

Order records by completing the following form.

  • 1626-2016 Pennsylvania, United States Marriages at FindMyPast ($)
  • 1677-1950 Pennsylvania Civil Marriages, 1677-1950 at FamilySearch
  • 1700-1821 Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry $
  • 1725-1976 Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic database of information. The entries are primarily from the International Genealogical Index (IGI) along with some entries derived from compiled and original records such as: Family Records, Church Records, Civil Registration. It may also include indexes generated by the internet indexing project sponsored by the LDS Church.
  • Pre-1810 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
  • 1812-1839 Van Booskirk, Mahlon. "Marriages from Squire Van Booskirk's Docket," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 30 (1906):437-444. For free online access, see WeRelate. Van Booskirk was a Justice of the Peace. Republished as: "Marriage Record of Mahlon Van Booskirk," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Mar. 1911):305-311. For online access, see WeRelate; the Family History Library also has this series in its collection: FHL Book 974.8 B2p.
  • 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
  • 1885-1950 Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. Most of the records consist of marriage licenses, certificates, applications, docket books, and affidavits. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
  • Index to Marriage Records at USGenWeb - Includes two indexes: the first is an alphabetical listing of brides and grooms in local newspapers, the second is a county marriage license search from the early 1990s to the presennt.

Death[edit | edit source]

Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary Montgomery County Courthouse.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

  • National Archives at Philadelphia
    14700 Townsend Road
    Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
    Phone: 215-305-2044
    Fax: 215-305-2052
    website
This organization has over "200 unpublished records from churches in Montgomery, Berks, Lehigh and Bucks County, from the Schwenkfelder, Reformed, Lutheran, Mennonite, Brethren, and Roman Catholic congregations." It also has many years of five local newspapers, family genealogies and files, local and county histories, diaries, printed fraktur, cemetery records, photographs, and other types of records.
  • Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
    8339 Old York Road
    Elkins Park, PA 19027
    Phone: 215-887-8700
    Fax: 215-887-1070
    Website
The Archives contains Jewish synagogue records from its founding in 1847 to the present.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Montgomery Area Public Library
    1 South Main Street
    Montgomery, PA 17752
    Phone: 570-547-6212
    Website
    The Montgomery Area Public Library is part of the Lycoming County Library System that holds genealogical, historical, and biographical items in their collection.
  • Valley Forge National Historical Park Library & Archives
    1400 North Outer Line Drive
    King of Prussia, PA 19406
    Office: 610-783-1034
    Fax: 610-783-1060
    Library: 610-296-2593
    Website
    This National Historic Park is staffed by The National Park Service and appointments are necessary. Contact Dona M. McDermott, Archivist.
    Email: dona_mcdermott@nps.gov

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Valley Forge National Historical Park Museum
    1400 North Outer Line Drive
    King of Prussia, PA 19406
    Phone: 610-783-1000
    Website
  • Temple Judea Museum
    Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
    8339 Old York Road, (SE corner Township Line Road)
    Elkins Park, PA 19027
    Phone: 215-887-2027
    Website
    Email: TJMuseum@aol.com
    The museum has collections of art works, political items, military information, music, history, and more.

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • The Mennonite Heritage Center
    565 Yoder Road
    Harleysville, PA 19438-1020
    Phone: 215-256-3020
    Email: library@mhep.org
    Website
    The Mennonite Historians of Eastern Pennsylvania support the John L. Ruth Historical Library and Museum at the Mennonite Heritage Center. Located in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, the records and resources of this treasure also cover the counties of Bucks, Chester, Berks, Lehigh, Northampton, and Philadelphia. The website provides a comprehensive overview of library resources, online cemetery database, manuscript collections, photo collections, archival collections, and more.
  • The Lower Merion Historical Society
    Lower Merion Academy
    506 Bryn Mawr Ave.
    Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004
    Website
    The Society preserves historic resources of the Township of Lower Merion and the Borough of Narberth. They have a collection of online biographical sketches, burial records, early maps, and other historical items. In their library are countless records that can be identified by online searches.
  • Historical Society of Montgomery County
    1654 DeKalb Street
    Norristown, PA 19401
    Phone: 610-272-0297
    Website
    Established in 1881, the Society's library contains over thirty thousand titles including books, pamphlets, newspapers and archival materials, family files, censuses, city directories, maps, photographs, county and church records, and scrapbooks.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/12/2017
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Philip Syng Physick Conner,"Registers of the Anglican Church in Pennsylvania prior to 1800," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12 (1888):341-349. For free online access, see WeRelate.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 7.5 7.6 7.7 7.8 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/1/10/Igipennsylvaniall.pdf.
  8. The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.