Montgomery County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Montgomery County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Montgomery County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Land
- 4.6 Local Histories
- 4.7 Maps
- 4.8 Military
- 4.9 Newspapers
- 4.10 Probate
- 4.11 Taxation
- 4.12 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Montgomery County North Carolina
East Main Street P O Box 695
Troy, NC 27371
Courhouse burned 1835
1820 Census missing
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, deeds burial, probate and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1842. 
Register of Deeds
PO Box 695
Troy, NC 27371
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 527
Troy, NC 27371
Telephone: (910) 571-3700
When Montgomery County was formed in 1779 from Anson County, It was named in honor of Richard Montgomery who, in 1775, lost his life at the battle of Quebec in the attempt to conquer Canada. Located in the south section of the State of North Carolina, it is bounded by Moore Co, Richmond Co, Stanly Co, Davidson Co, and Randolph County. When the county was first established it was specified that the first court should be held at the home of Henry Munger, and all subsequent courts should be held where the justices of peace decided until a courthouse was built. In 1783 the Assembly authorized the building of the courthouse on land previously purchased for that purpose. There was some dissatisfaction among the people as to the location that had been selected but this didn't sway the commissioners from the location they had selected. In an effort to appease the ones dissatisfied the act provided for adequate ferries across the Yadkin and Uwharrie Rivers on the court, public, and election days. The General Assembly was petitioned to authorize removal of the courthouse in 1785. In 1791 an act was passed directing that the center of the county be located by actual survey, and Stokes was to be established at that place. petitioned to authorize the removal of the courthouse. When the commissioners failed to act new commissioners were named in 1792. At that time the courts were to be held at the home of Mark Kenneth unless the justices decide on some more convenient place. The courthouse battle continued on for several more years with the commissioners in 1815 being named to again locate the center of the county, purchase land, and erect a courthouse. They were authorized to sell the old courthouse and lot in the town of Henderson and apply the proceeds to the erection of the new buildings. In 1816 Laurenceville was named under the authority of a law enacted in 1815 establishing a town at the courthouse. The courthouse was ordered to be moved in 1843 from Laurenceville to the geographical center. Commissioners were named to locate the center, to acquire land, to lay out a town and erect the public buildings. In 1844 Troy was established as the county seat and remains so today.
The above information comes from website - Montgomery County
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Montgomery County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Fork of Little River. Church built 1758. Originally located in Anson County.
- Mouth of Hughwarry River. Constituted 1780.
- Rocky River P.D.R. Constituted 1758.
- Randall's United Methodist Church, near Norwood, N.C. Organized about 1785. Later located in Stanly County.
- Zion United Methodist Church, near Pee Dee, N.C. Organized 1786. Originally known as Scarborough's Meeting House.
The Register of Deeds office serves as the custodian for real estate and vital records for Montgomery County. The records include deeds, deeds of trust, maps, military discharge records, notary public records, birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage licenses.
Montgomery County Register of Deeds
PO Box 695
102 E. Spring St
Troy, NC 27371
Deeds are currently indexed and searchable online from 1999, records are being updated regularly, so check back often.
- Montgomery County Military Records - from USGenWeb Archives
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Montgomery County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Montgomery County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company E
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company E
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company A
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
The Montgomery Herald, 139 Bruton St, Troy, NC 27371 910-576-6051
URL - Montgomery Herald
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Pre - 1790 - Pre-1790 Montgomery County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1843 - 1964 - Will Books 1 to 6 (1843-1964) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1843 - 1964 - Montgomery County North Carolina list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills. - Free
A number of wills have been transcribed, please visit the following websites:
The Clerk of Superior Court is elected for four years and must be a resident of the county in which he or she is elected. Unlike clerks of court in other states, the Clerk of Superior Court in North Carolina has numerous judicial functions.
As judge of probate, the Clerk has exclusive original jurisdiction over matters relating to the probate of wills, and the administration of estates, including appointing personal representatives, auditing their accounting, and removing them from office if necessary. The Clerk also presides over many other legal matters including adoptions, incompetency proceedings, condemnation of private lands for public use, and foreclosures. The Clerk is responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the district and superior court. In addition, the Clerk receives and disburses money collected each year from court fees and fines. Montgomery County has probate records starting from 1785, you should contact the Clerk's office for more specific details about the documents that you are seeking.
Montgomery County Courthouse
108 East Main Street
Troy, NC 27371
P. O. Box 527
Troy, NC 27371
Clerk of the Superior Court
Websites with Tax Lists:
Birth, Marriage and Death Records are available at the Register of Deeds office. Montgomery County has Marriage records from 1779, and Birth & Death records starting from 1913, when the State started requiring the registration of these vital records. Visit the Montgomery County Register of Deeds website to get further details.
The following websites have a number of transcribed Vital Records for Montgomery County:
- Montgomery County Vital Records NCGenWeb Project
- Montgomery County Vitals - from the USGenWeb Archives
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Montgomery County Marriages USGenWeb Archives
- Montgomery County, North Carolina Marriage Records at USGenWeb - free.
- 1843 - 1964 - Montgomery County Marriage Index 1843-1964 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 -2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Montgomery Historical Society
Troy, NC 27371
- Sandhill Regional Library System
- List of North Carolina Genealogical Societies
- North Carolina Genealogical Society, P. O. Box 30815, Raleigh, NC 27622-0815
- Federation of North Carolina Historical Societies, 109 East Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27607-2807
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Montgomery County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)sgenweb.org/ USGenWeb Project]. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Montgomery County NCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:225-226; 2:566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- "Randall's United Methodist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Zion United Methodist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.