To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Montgomery County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Montgomery County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Rockville
Organized: September 6, 1776
Parent County(s): Frederick[1]
Neighboring Counties
Frederick  • Howard  • Prince George's  • Arlington (VA)  • Fairfax (VA)  • Loudoun (VA)  • District of Columbia (DC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Montgomery County, Maryland Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
MD Montgomery map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Richard Montgomery. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Courthouse
101 Monroe Street, 2nd Floor
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 240-777-9466
Montgomery County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage records from 1799, divorce, court and land records from 1776.[3]

Montgomery County, Maryland Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1799 1898 1776 1776 1777 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The 1830 Census is missing.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Created 6 September 1776 from Frederick County.
  • County seat: Rockville[5]
  • 1791, portions of the county (including Georgetown) along with portions of Prince George's County were ceded to form District of Columbia.
  • For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities

Towns

Villages



Unincorporated communities


Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Montgomery County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information
  • "Brown Family Cemetery, Montgomery County, Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 51, No. 2 (Apr. 1975):110. FHL 973 D25aga v. 51
  • Riggs, Ronald Paul and John Frederick Dorman. "Two Montgomery County, Maryland, Cemeteries," The American Genealogist, Vol. 50, No. 2 (Apr. 1974):91. FHL 973 D25aga v. 50. Peter Family Cemetery and Offutt Family Cemetery.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Montgomery County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 18,003
1800 15,058 −16.4%
1810 17,980 19.4%
1820 16,400 −8.8%
1830 19,816 20.8%
1840 15,456 −22.0%
1850 15,860 2.6%
1860 18,322 15.5%
1870 20,563 12.2%
1880 24,759 20.4%
1890 27,185 9.8%
1900 30,451 12.0%
1910 32,089 5.4%
1920 34,921 8.8%
1930 49,206 40.9%
1940 83,912 70.5%
1950 164,401 95.9%
1960 340,928 107.4%
1970 522,809 53.3%
1980 579,053 10.8%
1990 757,027 30.7%
2000 873,341 15.4%
2010 971,777 11.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
  • The 1830 Census is missing.
  • Provincial Census of 1776, Frederick County; Including Lower Potomac Hundred, August 22, 1776; George Town Hundred, August 22, 1776; [Unnamed] Hundred, including present Montgomery County, 1776; Elizabeth Hundred, July 22, 1776 (24 pages of facsimile reproductions); Sugar Land Hundred, September 2, 1776; North West Hundred, September 2, 1776 is available online, see pages 177-257 of:
  • Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. By Gaius Marcus Brumbaugh. 1915. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company. Available online at Google Books.
  • Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Church of England

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Intercepted Letters Relating to America 1777-1811," The Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 2 (Fall 2000):184-200; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Spring 2001):53-74. Overseas correspondence of residents of Georgetown with the following surnames: Beatty, Deakins, Forrest, Johns, Levy, Magruder, Mason, and Stoddert.
  • List of imported servants and convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Montgomery County, Maryland (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Allnutt] Allnutt, Ernest C. "William Allnutt and Wife Sarah (Mears) Talbott, Widow of John Talbott of Calvert County, Maryland: The Progenitors of the American Colonial Family of Allnutt with One Line of Their Descendants in Montgomery County, Maryland," Maryland Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 33, No. 4 (Fall 1992):712-766. FHL CD-ROM no. 9 pt. 208.
  • [Austin] Galau, Jeane K. The Austin Family of Montgomery County, Maryland and Ohio County, Kentucky: With Related Lines. 3 vols. Menasha, Wisc.: J.K. Galau, 1978-1979. FHL Book 929.273 Au76, 3 volumes.
  • [Baker] Hurley, William Neal. Baker Families of Maryland. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, Inc., 2001. FHL Book 929.273 B167Hwn.
  • [Chilton] Dorman, John Frederick. "The Chilton Families of Virginia and Maryland," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):71-78; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):121-125; Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):167-174; Vol. 12, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1968):15-18; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1968):83-86; Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):109-113; Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1968):169-175; Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1969):32-36; Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):65-71; Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1969):177-180; Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1970):15-22; Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1970):75-82; Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):123-128; Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):165-168; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):32-41; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):122-124; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):259-264; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):301-306. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 11-v. 16.
  • [Hennage] Rubincam, Milton. "The Hennage Family of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):163-169. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 19 (1975).
  • [Miles] Hurley, William Neal. Our Maryland Heritage, Book Thirteen, Miles Families, Primarily of Montgomery County, Maryland, But Including Members of the Family Found in Other Counties of Maryland and Elsewhere. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, Inc., 1999.
  • [Rawlins] Lancaster, Jeannie. "Rawlins Family," Tree Builders, Christian County Genealogical Society, Vol. 27, No. 3 (Fall 2006):57-67.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Montgomery County Deed Books (1777-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Frederick CountyCarroll CountyHoward CountyPrince George's CountyDistrict of ColumbiaFairfax CountyLoudoun CountyMD MONTGOMERY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Montgomery County on page 127.
  • Revolutionary Records of Maryland. By Gaius Marcus Brumbaugh. 1924. Washington, D.C.: R.H. Darby Print. Available online at FamilySearch Books Online. Contains the 1778 Oath of Fidelity lists for Montgomery County.

War of 1812[edit | edit source]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Montgomery County, pp. 152-153. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Montgomery served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Montgomery:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1733 Russell, Donna Valley. "1733 Taxables," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 3, No. 3 (July 1987):99-103.
  • 1783 Montgomery County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

  • The Montgomery County Archives
    8540 Anniversary Circle
    Gaithersburg, MD 20877
    Phone: 301-926-5002 or 301-340-282
    Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Jane C. Sween Research Library
    42 W. Middle Lane
    Rockville, MD 20850
    Phone: 301-340-2974
    Website
  • Montgomery County Historical Society Library
    111 W. Montgomery Avenue
    Rockville, MD 20850
    Email: pandersen@montgomeryhistory.org
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Montgomery County Genealogy Club
    http://montgomeryhistory.org/genealogy/
    Meeting at 7:30 PM the last Wed of the Month Sept-May
    Meeting location:
    Rockville Senior Center
    1150 Carnation Dr.
    Rockville, MD
    Phone: 240-314-5019

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Andersen, Patricia Abelard. “Research in Montgomery County.” Maryland Genealogical Society Journal 51, no. 2 (2010): 207-217.
  • Cook, Eleanor M. V. Guide to the Records of Montgomery County, Maryland: Genealogical and Historical. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1989.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County%2C_Maryland, accessed 5 August 2018.