Montgomery County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Montgomery County

Guide to Montgomery County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mount Sterling
Organized: December 14, 1796
Parent County(s): Clark [1]
Neighboring Counties
Bath  • Bourbon  • Clark  • Menifee  • Powell
See County Maps
Courthouse
Montgomery County Courthouse, Mt. Sterling, KY
Location Map
Montgomery County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Montgomery County, is located east of Lexington in the outer Bluegrass region. The county was named for Gen. Richard Montgomery, who was killed at the Revolutionary War battle of Quebec. The current county seat, Mount Sterling, was established in 1793 as "Little Mountain Town" but the surveyor changed the name to Sterling.

County Courthouse

Montgomery County Courthouse
1 Court Street
PO Box 414;
Mount Sterling, KY 40353
Phone: 859-498-8700[2]
Montgomery County Website

Montgomery County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1864 1852 1796 1804 1810
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Record Loss

1851, 1863 Fires in 1851 and the burning down of the Courthouse in Mount Sterling by Confederate forces in 1863 destroyed many records, including marriage records and circuit court records. County clerk records were in a different location and were saved. Some marriage records have been reconstructed based on other records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1796--Montgomery County, the twenty-second county in order of formation was created 14 December 1796 from Clark County.  
  • County seat: Mount Sterling[3]

The original County included some or all of the present Counties of Montgomery, Bath, Powell, Estill, Lee, Breathitt, Perry, Leslie, Harlan, Letcher, Pike, Floyd, Knott, Magoffin, Wolfe, Morgan, and Menifee. In 1800 part of the County was lost to Madison and part was lost to the creation of Floyd. In 1811 part of the County was lost to the creation of Bath. In 1816 land was lost to Estill. In 1818 land was lost to Floyd. In 1852 part of the County was lost to the creation of Powell. In 1869 part of the County was lost to the creation of Menifee County.

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Montgomery County, Kentucky:

  • Aarons Run
  • Antioch Church
  • Bogy-Chennault
  • Calk
  • Camargo
  • Camp Branch
  • Ewingtons
  • Grassy Lick
  • Hope
  • Howards Mill
  • Jeffersonville
  • Judy
  • Klondike
  • Levee
  • Lower Spencer
  • Lucky Stop
  • Magowan
  • Mount Sterling
  • Penton
  • Pine Hill
  • Plum Lick
  • Prewitt
  • Reid Village
  • Rosedale
  • Salem
  • Sideview
  • Smithville
  • Spencer Village
  • Stepstone
  • Stoops
  • Trimble
  • Upper Spencer
  • Walkers Crossing
  • Willoughby

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Montgomery, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Montgomery county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18007,082
181012,97583.2%
18209,587−26.1%
183010,2406.8%
18409,332−8.9%
18509,9036.1%
18607,859−20.6%
18707,557−3.8%
188010,56639.8%
189012,36717.0%
190012,8343.8%
191012,8680.3%
192012,245−4.8%
193011,660−4.8%
194012,2805.3%
195013,0256.1%
196013,4613.3%
197015,36414.1%
198020,04630.5%
199019,561−2.4%
200022,55415.3%
Est. 200825,61813.6%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21173.txt

For tips on accessing Montgomery County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Cheatham] Dennstedt, Alberta Marjorie. "The Cheatham Family of Colonial Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 27, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1983):163-173; Vol. 27, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1983):273-279; Vol. 28, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1984):38-43; Vol. 28, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1984):102-112; Vol. 28, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1984):209-216; Vol. 28, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1984):293-297; Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):32-40; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):123-127; Vol. 29, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1985):179-185; Vol. 29, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1985):262-265; Vol. 30, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1986):17-23; Vol. 30, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1986):99-104. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 27 (1983)-v. 30 (1986).
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "The John Finleys of Augusta County, Virginia: Correcting the Record," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 46, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2002):3-13; Vol. 46, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2002):98-113; Vol. 46, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2002):171-178; Vol. 46, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2002):268-281. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 46 (2002).
  • [Hawley] Mack, Ann H. "Hawley/Halley in Seventeenth Century Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 28, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1984):3-7; Vol. 28, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1984):121-125; Vol. 28, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1984):197-203; Vol. 28, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1984):281-292; Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):21-28. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 28 (1984)-v. 29 (1985).
  • [Jameson] Bourne, James M. "The Jameson Family," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jan. 1895):199-201; . Digitized by JSTOR - free.
  • [Kirk] Mosher, Merrill Hill. "Origin of the John, Mathew & Robert Kirk Families of Lancaster County, South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Spring 1995):74-79. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 23
  • [McClure] Ancestry of the children of Andrew McClure of Montgomery County, Kentucky at Ancestry ($)
  • [Pritchett] Jones, Thomas W. "Logic Reveals the Parents of Philip Pritchett of Virginia and Kentucky," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 97 (March 2009):29-38. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 97 (2009).
  • [Sanders] Helmer, Richard Bryan and Mark L. Lehman. James & Alvin Sanders, Livestock Journalists of the Midwest. Bryn Mawr, Pa., 1985. FHL Book 921.73 Sa56h.
  • [Spratt] Pompey, Sherman L. The Moses Spratt Family of Platte, Missouri. Pasadena, Calif., 1965.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Bourbon CountyBath CountyMenifee CountyPowell CountyClark CountyKY MONTGOMERY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Montgomery County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company J.
- 3rd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Companies A, B, and D.
- 3rd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Companies A, B and D.
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company E.
- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Companies B and G.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies B, D, E and H.
- 12th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies B, C, D, F and K.
- 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B, C and D.
- 45th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies D, H and I.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Montgomery County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Montgomery County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Montgomery County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Montgomery County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Kentucky page 273, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.