To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Montgomery County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Montgomery County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Montgomery County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Montgomery County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 21, 1821
County Seat Hillsboro
Courthouse
Montgomery County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Montgomery County Courthouse
#1 Courthouse Square
Hillsboro, Illinois 62049
(217) 532-9530
Montgomery County Website


Montgomery County Organization[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1878 1821 1878 1821 1821 1821 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1916. General compliance by 1922.

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Montgomery County are kept, see the Montgomery County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Richard Montgomery

Montgomery County is named for Richard Montgomery who was an Irish-born Revolutionary War General most famous for leading the failed 1775 invasion of Canada.[2]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1821--Montgomery County was created 12 February 1821 from Bond and Madison Counties.  County seat: Hillsboro [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Gen. Montgomery. The county seat is Hillsboro and the county was organized on 1821. The County is located in the Central area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

To locate forgotton towns check the Montgomery County Genealogical Society web page.

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Records and Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Montgomery County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Montgomery County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Montgomery, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information


The following web sites have additional information on Montgomery county cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190030,836
191035,31114.5%
192041,40317.3%
193035,278−14.8%
194034,499−2.2%
195032,460−5.9%
196031,244−3.7%
197030,260−3.1%
198031,6864.7%
199030,728−3.0%
200030,652−0.2%
IL Counties 1900-1990

Censuses indexes from Montgomery County Genealogical Society 

Federal Census

1830

1840

1850

1860

1870

1910

State Census

1825

1855

1840 Pensioners[edit | edit source]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Montgomery County on page 187.]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois state wiki article Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research. Many libraries( WorldCat) and the Family History Library hold abstracts of church records for Montgomery County. Learn more about how to search WorldCat.

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Montgomery County edition. Church information can be found in the township histories beginning on page 848. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
  • Perrin, William Henry. History of Bond and Montgomery County. Chicago: O.L. Baskin Historical Publishers, 1882. Internet Archive Digital Online Copy FHL Film 934970 Item 3FHL Book 977.38 H2h Begining on page 232 is a history of churches in Hillsboro. Search within township histories, beginning on page 248, for other county church information.


Baptist

Lutheran

Presbyterian

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Gotoarrow.png Illinois Court Records for more information. Original probate records are usually held by the circuit court clerk. However, in Montgomery County, the original circuit court case files 1821–1902 are held byIRAD–UIS.  See the wiki page IRAD–UIS for more information about these records and how to access them. Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records.

Original Records:

  • 1821–1902 Circuit Court Case Files IRAD–UIS. Learn more about using IRAD
  • 1837–1856 Circuit Court Dockets IRAD–UIS.
  • 1838–1873 Circuit Court Fee Books IRAD–UIS.
  • 1822–1862 Circuit Court Judgement Dockets IRAD–UIS.
  • No date Circuit Court Judgement Dockets and Claim Registers IRAD–UIS.
  • 1821–1863 Circuit Court Record IRAD–UIS.
  • 1822–1870 Circuit Court Judgement and Execution Files IRAD–UIS.

The following copies are available:

  • 1862–1955 Circuit Court Records, Chancery IRAD–UIS. Chancery court records are usualy civil court records and may include family information.

Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

IRAD–UIS land holdings for Montgomery County. Search for Montgomery County. Records include: Explore the IRAD–UIS wiki page for more information about how to use IRAD.

  • 1821–1958 Deed Index
  • 1821–1958 Deed Record
  • 1837–1868 School land sale
  • 1865–1874 Swamp lands sale
  • 1821–1848 Taxable lands

Various and land property abstracts may found in the FamilySearch Catalog  with a subject search.

Online Resources

  • BLM GLO Records. Search original land patents for Montgomery County from the Govenment Land Office (GLO) or Eastern States Office. Some searches include images of the original warrants. All search results include the patant details needed for requesting copies of the land entry files at the National Archives. The GLO is the custodian of millions of land title documents. The General Land Office Automated Records Project is responsible for making these important documents available to the public.
  • Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales. The Illinois State Archives has an online index to the records of Public land sales held by the State Archives. The indexes are by purchasers name and by legal description. This is a statewide collection with nearly 550,000 land sales fro 54740 square miles.
  • 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
  • Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
  • Sheldon, Theodore. Land registration in Illinois. Chicago: Callaghan Co., 1901. Digital book. Expains the laws regarding land and the land systems used in Illinois. Includes court cases involving land issues. In addition to being on Ancestry, this book is available online at no cost at Internet Archives and Google Books.
  • Montgomery County Federal Township Plats

Maps[edit | edit source]

Sangamon CountyChristian CountyShelby CountyFayette CountyBond CountyMadison CountyMacoupin CountyIL MONTGOMERY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War [edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Montgomery County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Montgomery County.

- 1st Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E.
- 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company H.
- 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 70th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 91st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 117th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 119th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 126th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and F.
- 143rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies C and H.

Military Soldiers Indexed from Montgomery County Genealogical Society.

- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
:- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company A
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company B
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company C
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company D
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company E
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company F
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company G
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company H
:- 67th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company I
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
:- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Genealogical Society has an index to obituaries for 1980 to 1981 and 1984 to 2009. They also have forms to request the obituary.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records


Original probate records are held by the circuit court clerk. Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records. See the Illinois Probate  wiki page for more information about these records. Copies of probate records are held by IRAD–UIS. See the wiki page IRAD–UIS more information about these records and how access them. Additonal copies are held by the Family History Library.

Online Index provided by the Montgomery County Genealogical Society

Copies are as follows:

Repositories[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Montgomery County are kept, see the Montgomery County Courthouse page.

Family History Center[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.

The FHC center in Montgomery County is located in Litchfield. Be sure to call and visit the wiki page for hours of service and other information.

Litchfield Illinois Family History Center
12367 Roberson Rd
Litchfield, Illinois 62056
217-324-2396

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site, if you live outside the area.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS) houses the records for Montgomery County. The link will help you find and use the records. There address is:

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
LIB144
University of Illinois at Springfield Region
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407
217-206-6520

Public Libraries[edit | edit source]

Doyle Public Library District
109 S O'Bannon
Raymond, IL 62560


Farmersville-Waggoner Public Library District
210 South Cleveland Street
Farmersville, IL 62533


Hillsboro Public Library
214 School Street
Hillsboro, IL 62049


Litchfield Carnegie Public Library
400 N. State
Litchfield, IL 62056

The Litchfield library's genealogical collection is housed in the Jackson–Walker Genealogy Room.  The library also holds the Walter Sanders collection. Records include cemetery listings, local county and town histories, city directories and plat books, family histories, church histories, marriage and death records and many other useful genealogy tools.


Nokomis Public Library
22 South Cedar Street, Suite 2
Nokomis, IL 62075


Witt Twp. Memorial Library
18 North Second Street
Witt, IL 62094

Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Genealogical Society
PO Box 212
Litchfield, IL 62056
E-mail:info@mcgsil.com
Website
This society is for those who are interested in history of Montgomery County. Their website has searches for births, marriages, deaths, cemeteries, land records, and military records. There are online sources for churches, schools, cemetery locations, and maps. It has many searchable birth, death, schools, military, census, wills, and many more links. You can also order publications.

Historical Society of Montgomery County Illinois
305 South Broad Street
Hillsboro, IL 62049
Website

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded since 1877 are kept by the Montgomery County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. A limited number of births were recorded between 1862 and 1877. Original marriage records are kept by the County Clerk from 1821 to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the FamilySearch Catalog as a subject search, and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois Springfield(UIS) - search for Montgomery County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD–UIS Wiki page.

Birth[edit | edit source]

  • 1862–1877 Birth records index Courtesy of Montgomery County Genealogical Society. Online index.
  • 1862–1957 Birth Certificates IRAD–UIS search for Montgomery County. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS.
  • 1877–1918 Birth Record Index IRAD–UIS search for Montgomery County. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS.
  • 1918–1928 Birth Records (Litchfield) IRAD–UIS search for Montgomery County. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County does not have death records included in the pre-1916 statewide death index.

Websites
[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
  2. Richard Montgomery www.wikipedia.org
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Illinois 04/19/2017.