Montgomery County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Montgomery County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Montgomery County
 

Guide to Montgomery County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mount Ida
Organized: December 9, 1842
Parent County(s): Hot Spring[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark  • Garland  • Hot Spring  • Howard  • Pike  • Polk  • Scott  • Yell
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasMontgomeryCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-montgomery.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Montgomery County Courthouse
1 George Street
Mount Ida, AR 71957
Phone: 870.887.3521
Montgomery County Website

County Clerk has marriage, probate, land and court records from 1845;
County Agent has burial records.[2]

Montgomery County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1845 1914* 1845 1845 1845
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1842--Montgomery County was created 9 December 1842 from Hot Spring County.
  • County seat: Mount Ida[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Montgomery County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Montgomery County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1803 - Montgomery County was included in land claimed by Spain and then France before becoming American property as part of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1812 - Kentuckians Martin and Mary Belle Collier were the first recorded white settlers.
  • 1842 December 9 - Montgomery County was organized out of Hot Spring County.
  • 1905 - With the Missouri Pacific Railroad’s arrival, Caddo Gap and Black Springs thrived.
  • 1937 - Mauldin was dismantled and carried off by rail. The lumber company, picking up its tracks as it left, had depleted the virgin timber; this, together with the Depression, had a devastating economic impact on the county.
  • 1910-2010 - Montgomery County population hit its high mark in 1910 (12,400) its low in 1960 (5,400) and now (2010) stands at 9,487.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Montgomery, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1845-1954 Montgomery County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Guardian bonds 1858-1909; Letters of administration 1859-1912; Probate records 1845-1903; Wills 1863-1954.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Montgomery CountyPerry CountyYell CountyGarland CountyScott CountySebastian CountyLogan CountyPolk CountySevier CountyClark CountyPike CountyHoward CountyHot Spring CountyDallas CountyConway CountyPope CountySaline CountyFranklin CountyPulaski CountyHempstead CountyNevada CountyARMontgomery.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Montgomery County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Mary B. Lysobey, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=793&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Montgomery County.”
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.