Montcalm County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Michigan Genealogy
Montcalm County

Guide to Montcalm County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Montcalm County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 2, 1831
County Seat Stanton
Courthouse
Address Montcalm County Courthouse
211 W Main St.
P. O. Box 368
Stanton, MI 48888
Phone: (989) 831-7339
Montcalm County Website


County Information

Montcalm County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1867 1867 1820 1838 1855

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1858, divorce and court records from 1865.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1831--Montcalm County was created 2 March 1831 from Mackinac County. It was attached to Ionia County prior to organization 20 March 1850. County seat: Stanton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1905 The courthouse was destroyed by fire on 16 February; however, county records were saved.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clinton  • Gratiot  • Ionia  • Isabella  • Kent  • Mecosta  • Newaygo

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Reynolds Township Cemetery

Census

State Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Montcalm County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Portrait and biographical album of Ionia and Montcalm counties, Michigan.

Maps

Mimontcalm.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montcalm County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Montcalm and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth
Marriage
  • 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch.  Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
Death
  • 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 --  Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch.   Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.

Societies and Libraries

Flat River Genealogical Society of Greenville
506 W. Grant Street
Greenville Michigan 48838

Belding Area Historical Society
108 Hanover
Belding Michigan 48809
Telephone Number:616-794-2210

Oakfield Pioneer Heritage Society and Museum
11009 Podunk Road
Greenville Michigan 48838
Telephone Number: 616-754-1970

Ionia County Historical Society
Blanchard House 251 E. Main
Ionia ,Michigan 48846
Telephone Number: 616-527-6281

Ionia County Genealogical Society
PO Box 516
Lake Odessa, Michigan 48849-0516
Telephone Number: 616-374-8455

- See more at: http://www.genealogyinc.com/michigan/montcalm-county/#sthash.AZMP9M22.dpuf


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montcalm County, Michigan page 348, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).