Montana, United States Genealogy
Guide to Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Montana Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Montana Information[edit | edit source]
Montana is a state in the western United States. There are 56 counties in the state. Montana was the 41st State to join the Union on November 8, 1889. Montana was formed from the Montana Territory. The State Capital is Helena. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Montana Research[edit | edit source]
Links to articles on getting started with Montana research.
Montana Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Links to articles and websites that assist in United States research.
Montana Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county level in Montana Click on a county below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county level in Montana. Click on a county below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
- Big Horn
- Deer Lodge
- Golden Valley
- Judith Basin
- Lewis and Clark
- Powder River
- Silver Bow
- Sweet Grass
Extinct/Renamed Counties: Edgerton
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 09/18/2016.