Montana Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Montana Wiki Topics
Montana flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Montana Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Montana was the 41st State to join the Union on November 8, 1889. Montana was formed from the Montana Territory. It first appears on the 1870 U.S. Census.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1870 1880 1890 1900
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1910 1920 1930 1940
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com

Non-Population Schedules for Montana[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1890 Veterans at Ancestry.com ($)
1880 Mortality at Ancestry.com ($)
1870 Mortality at Ancestry.com ($)
1860 Mortality at Ancestry.com ($)

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

No state census records are known to exist for Montana

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Indian census rolls, Rocky Boy, 1919-1939 Indian census rolls, Flathead, 1886-1939
Indian census rolls, Ft. Shaw School, 1910 Indian census rolls, Ft. Belknap, 1885-1939
Census rolls, 1909-1948 Indian census rolls, Ft. Peck, 1885-1939
Indian census rolls, Great Sioux, 1892 Nonpopulation, 1870-1880
Indian census rolls, Crow, 1891-1940 Mortality, agricuture, industry schedules, 1870-80
Indian census rolls, Blackfeet, 1890-1939

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service

More about censuses[edit | edit source]

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as: