Monroe County, Michigan Genealogy
Guide to Monroe County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Monroe County, Michigan|
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
|Founded||July 14, 1817|
|Address||Monroe County Courthouse|
106 E 1st Street
Monroe, MI 48161
Monroe County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 War of 1812
- 5.11 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Other Records
- 5.15 Probate
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for James Monroe. The County has Monroe as its seat and the County was created July 14, 1817. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Monroe County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth records from 1874, marriage records from 1818, death records from 1867, divorce and court records to 1945.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. 
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
- 1819-1991 - Michigan, Church Records, 1819-1991 at FamilySearch — index
- The Monroe County Library System has microfilm of county church records running back to the 18th century. They are housed at the Ellis Library & Reference Center.
Catholic[edit | edit source]
|St. John the Baptist||Monroe||1873-1901||1918-1984||1873-1901|
|St. Joseph||Erie||1825-1900||1841-1984||1827-1858, 1858-1900 (1856-1885 missing)|
|St. Mary||Monroe||1794-1830, 1882-1907||1795-1941, 1942-1984||1794-1908|
Protestant[edit | edit source]
|1st United Presbyterian Church||Petersburg||1856-1913|
|Immanuel Lutheran Church||Ida||1879-1949|
|Maybee Congregational Church||Maybee||1880-1950|
|Methodist Episcopal Church of Petersburg||Deerfield||1883-1900|
|Prince of Peace Lutheran Church||Ida||1860-1913|
|St. John Evangelical Lutheran Church||Dundee||1860-1949|
|St. Michael Lutheran Church||Ottawa Lake||1872-1937|
|St. Paul's Lutheran Church||Maybee||1859-1928|
|St. Paul's Lutheran Church||Monroe||1897-1940|
|St. Paul's United Methodist Church||Monroe||1841-1900|
|Trinity Episcopal Church||Monroe||1831-1924|
|Trinity Lutheran Church||Monroe||1843-1907|
|Trinity Lutheran Church||Monroe||1843-1911|
|Zion Lutheran Church||Ottawa Lake||1861-1935|
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Monroe County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Monroe County.
- - 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Companies C and i
- Michigan, Civil War Centennial Observance Commission, Committee on Civil War Grave Registration, Burial Records at FamilySearch — index
- War of 1812 Veterans Buried in Monroe County
- 1876-1945 - Michigan, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1876-1945 at FamilySearch — index
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1919 - Michigan, Census of World War I Veterans with Card Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1993 - Michigan, Eastern and Western Districts, Naturalization Records, 1837-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Bygones of Monroe: Glimpses of Life in Monroe County History Taken from Area Newspapers.
Finding More Michigan Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1820-2006 - Michigan Obituaries, 1820-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1821-2012 - Monroe County Obituary Index at Ancestry ($)
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- Laurant Durocher Account Book Index, an active citizen in the founding of Frenchtown, later known as Monroe, Michigan.
Probate[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1980 Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1797 – 1973 Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch — images
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1917 - Michigan, County Births, 1867-1917 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1902 - Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1585-1945 - Michigan, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1820-1937 - Michigan, County Marriages Index, 1820-1937 at FamilySearch — index
- 1820-1940 - Michigan, County Marriages, 1820-1940 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 — index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 — index and images
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical Society of Monroe County
PO Box 1428
Monroe, MI 48161-6428
- Monroe County Historical Museum
126 South Monroe Street
Monroe, MI 48161
- Monroe County Historical Museum
Archives and Collections
- Daughters of the American Revolution
Nancy DeGraff Toll Chapter
- Monroe County Library System
Branch links, locations and hours
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Michigan Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Michigan Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Monroe County MI Genealogy (Michigan Genealogy)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Michigan."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Michigan . Page 343-351 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 346-349.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Michigan page 348, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County%2C_Michigan, accessed 05 November 2019.