Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Monroe County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Monroe County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Monroe County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 14, 1818
County Seat Bloomington
Courthouse
Address Monroe County Courthouse
301 N. College Avenue
PO Box 547
Bloomington, IN 47402-0547
Phone: 812-349-2600
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1818 1882 1818 1817 1831 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.


  • Parent Counties: Formed from Orange County 14 January 1818. [2]
  • County Seat: Bloomington [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for James Monroe, fifth President of the United States, who was serving at the time the county was organized. The County Seat is Bloomington and was founded 1818. It is located in the Central area of the state.[4]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Morgan  • Brown  • Jackson  • Lawrence  • Greene  • Owen

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves
Genealogy Trails

Names in Stone


See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 2,679
1830 6,577 145.5%
1840 10,143 54.2%
1850 11,286 11.3%
1860 12,847 13.8%
1870 14,168 10.3%
1880 15,875 12.0%
1890 17,673 11.3%
1900 20,873 18.1%
1910 23,426 12.2%
1920 24,519 4.7%
1930 35,974 46.7%
1940 36,534 1.6%
1950 50,080 37.1%
1960 59,225 18.3%
1970 84,849 43.3%
1980 98,785 16.4%
1990 108,978 10.3%
2000 120,563 10.6%
2010 137,974 14.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • History of Monroe County - Linkpendium
  • Monroe County History - USGenWeb
  • Monroe County, Indiana, Family Heritage Book, published by the Monroe County Historical Society in 1987. Contains an every-name index.
  • Monroe County, Indiana, Family Heritage Book, published by the Monroe County History Center in 2007. Contains an every-name index. Material does not overlap with the book by the same name published in 1987.
  • Index to History of Harrodsburg (1964) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
  • Index to History of Stinesville (1955) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.


See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Owen CountyMorgan CountyBrown CountyJackson CountyLawrence CountyGreene CountyIN MONROE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
  • Monroe County in the Mexican-American War, INGenWeb
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monroe County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" in Blanchard, Charles. Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey Co, 1884.) page 413-451, 977.2 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Internet Archive
Civil War Databases[edit | edit source]
Pension Files[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
  • Monroe County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps, AccessGenealogy (free)

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

  • The Genealogy Library at Monroe County History Center at Sixth and Washington in Bloomington has a clipping file containing more than 73,000 clippings from newspapers mostly between 1880 and 1930. These clippings are not available online and overlap only minimally with the clippings archived at Rootsweb listed next.
  • Many thousands of newspaper clippings, some as early as 1824, are also available in the INMONROE Rootsweb list archive. Select Advanced tab. Enter INMONROE in the "List" query box for clipping index.
  • The Monroe County Public Library at Bloomington has an online obituary index. Choose "Obituary Index" within the box on the left labeled INDIANA ROOM at . Most of the obits come from a single newspaper.Consequently, if the obit you seek is not found in the index, try one of the other local newspapers from the same date. The index dates from 1824 through the current month.

The Indiana Division of the Indiana State Library has the state’s largest newspaper collection. Their newspaper microfilms are available through inter-library loan. For a county-by-county inventory of their 16,500 reels of Indiana newspaper microfilms, see their Indiana Collection.

Other places to access newspapers are Newspaper Archive ($)(may be free at your local library), public librariescollege or university libraries, the Library of Congress, or Google News.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Monroe County Courthouse
301 N. College Avenue; PO Box 547
Bloomington, IN 47402-0547
Phone: 812-349-2600

County clerk has marriage, divorce and court records from 1818, probate records from 1831. County Health Department has birth, death and burial records from 1882. County Recorder has land records. [6]

As of a date earlier than August 2012, many of the offices and the records related to the offices in the courthouse are temporarily housed in the Showers Building while the courthouse is under construction.The Clerk's Office is permanently located in the Justice Building at Seventh and College.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Monroe County Genealogical Society
E 6th St. & Washington
Bloomington, IN 47401

Monroe County Historical Society
202 East Sixth St.
Bloomington, IN 47408
Telephone Number: 812-332-2517
Website

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Monroe County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records. Online Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Registration[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.


Birth Records[edit | edit source]


Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites[edit | edit source]


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Monroe County, Indiana" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Monroe_County,_Indiana (accessed 4 August 2012).
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Indiana 3/29/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County%2C_Indiana, accessed 27 December 2019.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.