Monroe County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Monroe County

Guide to Monroe County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Forsyth
Organized: May 15, 1827
Parent County(s): Creek Indian lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bibb  • Butts  • Crawford  • Jasper  • Jones  • Lamar  • Upson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Monroe County Court House Forsyth, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Monroe County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for James Monroe, American statesman and Founding Father who served as the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Monroe County Courthouse
PO Box 189
Forsyth, GA 31029-0189
Phone: 912-994-7000
Monroe County Website

Probate Court has marriage, probate records from 1824, birth records from 1927 and death records from 1940.
Clerk Superior Court has court and land records from 1821 and divorce records.[3]

Monroe County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1927 1824 1940 1822 1824 1830

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[4]

Boundary Changes

  • 1821 Monroe County was created 15 May 1827 from Creek Indian lands.
  • County seat: Forsyth[5]

The original Monroe County included all of what would become Pike County and Upson County and parts of Bibb, Butts, and Spalding Counties.
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Monroe County, Georgia:

  • Culloden - incorporated 1887
  • Berner - unincorporated
  • Blount - unincorporated
  • Bolingbroke - unincorporated
  • Brent - unincorporated
  • Dames Ferry - unincorporated
  • Dyas - unincorporated
  • Forsyth- incorporated 1823
  • High Falls - unincorporated
  • Juliette - unincorporated
  • Moran - unincorporated
  • Russellville - unincorporated
  • Smarr - unincorporated
  • Strouds - unincorporated

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Monroe, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Monroe County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Monroe County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Gamonroe.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monroe County:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Ramsey's) (Confederate), Company K
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 31st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 35th Battalion, Georgia (Confederate), Company D
- 45th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and D
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K


  • Monroe County Historical Society (Ga.). 1979. Monroe County, Georgia: a history. Forsyth, Ga: Monroe County Historical Society. (page 150-169) 975.8563 H2m
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Monroe County). 1958. Roster of soldiers who entered the Confederate Army from Monroe County. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 164288
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Monroe County). 1958. Applications of Confederate veterans & widows for pensions. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 164286


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

  • 1881-1886 Monroe County Birth Book E Index 1881-1886. Batch C713383 at FamilySearch[6]

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Monroe County Historical Society
    East Johnston Street
    PO Box 401
    Forsyth, GA 31029
    Phone: 912-994-5070
    Website
    Faceboook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Georgia accessed 2 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 45. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.