Monroe County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Monroe County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Monroe County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||July 3, 1823|
|County Seat||Key West|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Directories
- 5.6 Immigration
- 5.7 Land
- 5.8 Letters
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Military
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Obituaries
- 5.13 Photos
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Local Histories
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 5.18 Societies and Libraries
- 5.19 Websites
- 5.20 References
Monroe County, Florida Record Dates
FLGenWeb Project History of Monroe County
The county was named for James Monroe. Key West is the county seat and the county was created July 3, 1823. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The following web site may have additional information on Monroe County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
For tips on accessing Monroe County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
FLGenWeb Project Directories of Monroe Co.
1913 Burtz' Gainesville Directory 1913
1906-1907 Key West Directory 1906-1907
1912 Key West, The Old and the New 1912 Key West and Monroe County, FLorida
- 1908 - 1912 Florida, Knights Keys Passenger Lists, 1908-1912 at FamilySearch — index
- 1944 - 1945 Florida and South Carolina, Airplane Arrival Manifests, 1944-1945 at FamilySearch — images
- NARA Ships Passenger Lists These passenger lists cover:
1834 - 1897 Immigration of Russians to the United States
1/12/1846 -12/31/1851 Irish Famine
1850 - 1897 Germans to the United States
1855 - 1900 Italians to the United States
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Letters Home, Monroe County, The FLGenWeb Project
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
- Monroe Co FLGenWeb
- Monroe County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- FLGenWeb Project
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1883 - Monroe County Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1885 - 1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames Abad-Burnside (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames Burras-Diaz de Villegas (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames Dice-Gresty (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames Grier-Ley (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames Lichtig-Nye (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames O'Brien-Robinson (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames Roca-Sturrup (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Monroe County Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames Suarez-Zuniga (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- Monroe County World War II Army Enlistees, Names Abbott - Hepburn (USGenWeb Archives)
- Monroe County World War II Army Enlistees, Names Herce - Sands (USGenWeb Archives)
- Monroe County World War II Army Enlistees, Names Santana - Zarate USGenWeb Archives)
- Monroe County Korean War Fatal Casualties (FLGenWeb Project)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War distantcousin.com
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FLGenWeb Project Old Newspapers Monroe Co.
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb
- U.S. Hidden Ancestors Obituaries
- USGenWeb Obituaries Project Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties
Penny Postcards from Monroe Co., The FLGenWeb Project
Probate records are held by the Monroe County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Monroe County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
- 1784 – 1990 Florida Probate Records 1784-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1810 – 1974 Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Local histories are available for Monroe County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1877 - 1939 Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1993 Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries
Monroe County Genealogical Society
21 Ventana Lane
Big Coppitt Key 33040
- Random Acts of Kindness List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies
- FamilySearch Find a Family History Center
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Monroe County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Monroe County FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Monroe County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Monroe County, FLGenWeb Project
- Monroe County, Florida, USGenWeb Archives
- Monroe County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Monroe County FL Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Florida Page 136 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Florida 04/25/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Florida, accessed 30 January 2019.