Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Monroe County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Monroe County
 

Guide to Monroe County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Clarendon
Organized: November 2, 1829
Parent County(s): Phillips and Arkansas[1]
Neighboring Counties
Arkansas  • Lee  • Phillips  • Prairie  • St. Francis  • Woodruff
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasMonroeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-monroe.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Monroe County Courthouse
123 Madison Street
Clarendon, AR 72029-2794
Phone: 870.747.3921
Monroe County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1850 and probate records from 1839;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1839, court records from 1830 and land records from 1829.[2]

Monroe County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1850 1914* 1830 1829 1839
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1829--Monroe County was created 2 November 1829 from Phillips and Arkansas Counties.
  • County seat: Clarendon[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Monroe County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Monroe County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1815 October - Federal surveyors Prospect Robbins and Joseph Brown came to Arkansas to begin the survey of the Louisiana Purchase by establishing the initial survey point or base line.
  • 1829 November 2 - Monroe County was established.
  • 1870-1930 - From about 1870 to about 1930, the timber business became important for much of the county as lumber mills were established around the county
  • 1900s - Two natural disasters between 1900 and 1930 devastated large sections of the county. First was a massive tornado on March 8, 1909,. Second was the Flood of 1927.
  • 1920-2010 - The population of Monroe County peaked at 21,600 in 1920 and has dropped to 8,149 today (2010).

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Monroe County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Presbyterian

Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Clarendon

  • 1869-1885 - Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Baptism Index 1869-1885. Batch C586751 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1885-1915 - Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Marriage Index 1885-1915. Batch M586751 at FamilySearch - free.

First Presbyterian Church, Clarendon

  • 1870-1885 - First Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Baptism Index 1870-1885. Batch C586761 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1904-1909 - First Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Marriage Index 1904-1909. Batch M586761 at FamilySearch - free.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1839-1949 Monroe County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 : Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1861-1899; Dockets 1873-1888; Executor records 1865-1945; Guardian bonds and letters 1866-1894; Letters of administration and guardianship 1877-1899; Probate records 1839-1890; Wills 1830-1949.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Monroe CountyWhite CountyWoodruff CountyCross CountySt. Francis CountyLee CountyPhillips CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyJefferson CountyBolivar CountySunflower CountyCoahoma CountyArkansas CountyTunica CountyQuitman CountyPrairie CountyTallahatchie CountyLincoln CountyDesha CountyLeflore CountyCleveland CountyGrenada CountyCrittenden CountyCarroll CountyWebster CountyCalhoun CountyYalobusha CountyTate CountyDeSoto CountyMarshall CountyPanola CountyLafayette CountyMontgomery CountyUnion CountyShelby CountyFayette CountyHardeman CountyPontotoc CountyBenton CountyARMonroe1.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Monroe County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 13th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 15th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Josey's) (Confederate)

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Monroe County Library
270 Madison St
Clarendon, AR 72029
(870) 747-5593

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Louise Mitchell, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=792&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Monroe County.”
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.