Monmouthshire, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources
Wales
Monmouthshire

Guide to Monmouthshire, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Historic Monmouthshire

Traditional Monmouthshire

Monmouthshire (Welsh:Sir Fynwy or Mynwy) was one of the thirteen historic counties of Wales. It was a maritime county, bounded to the north by Breconshire, to the east by Herefordshire (in England), to the west by Glamorgan and to the south by the Bristol Channel.

The county was created following the Act of Union of 1536, between Wales and England, and was formed from the lordships of Abergavenny, Caerleon, Chepstow, Monmouth, Newport, Three Castles, Usk and part of Ewias.

The administrative county of Monmouthshire, with an elected county council, was formed in 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888.

The 1971 census recorded the population of Monmouthshire as 461,700.

Motto: Usque Fidelis (English: Faithful to both)

Chapman Code: MON

1974-1996 Gwent

WalesGwent

Under the Local Government Act 1972, the county and administrative county of Monmouthshire was abolished on April 1, 1974. Most of its area formed the new county of Gwent, with parts going to the new counties of Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan.

Modern Monmouthshire

WalesMonmouthshire

Following further local government reorganisation, the county of Gwent was abolished on April 1, 1996 and was divided into the newly created county boroughs of:

  • Blaenau Gwent (county borough)
  • Islwyn (county borough)
  • Newport (county borough)
  • Torfaen (county borough)
  • and the county of Monmouthshire (which has very different boundaries from the historic county of that name).

Parishes


Topics

Research tools

Indexed Bishops Transcripts and Parish Records for the County of Monmouthshire, Wales – this is a work in progress site and currently only a few parishes with searchable records.

FamilySearch - Wales, Monmouthshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1912


Websites