Monkton Wyld, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Monkton Wyld, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Monkton Wyld, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axminster; Whitchurch-Canoncorum
County Devon
Poor Law Union Axminster; Bridport
Registration District Axminster; Bridport
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Ecclessiastical parish of Monkton Wyld was created in 1850 from the ancient parish of Whitchurch Cannonicorum, Dorset and the ancient parish of Uplyme in Devon near Lyme Regis.[1]

Monkton Wyld can be found under Whitchurch-Canonicorum:

WHITCHURCH-CANONICORUM, a village, a parish, a sub-district, and a hundred, in Dorset. The village stands 5 miles WNW of Bridport r. station; and has a post-office under Bridport. The parish includes four hamlets. The church is good; a chapel of ease is at Marshwood; and part of the parish is in Monckton-Wyld chapelry. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels.[2]

Part of this parish is in Dorset. See Monkton Wyld, Dorset.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Monkton Wyld parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Devon, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Devon Bishop's Transcripts, 1558-1887 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Devon Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Devon Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Monkton Wyld Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS BTs 1558-1887
1558-1887
1558-1887
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1923
1507-2002
1537-1988
FMP Banns

1629-1918


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Devon Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles published in 1887. Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk