Monks Kirby, Warwickshire Genealogy
Part of this parish is in Leicestershire. See also Monks Kirby, Leicestershire.
|Monks Kirby, Warwickshire|
|Poor Law Union||Lutterworth|
|Registration District||Lutterworth; Rugby|
|Parish registers: 1647|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1677; For more records see Withybrook (Warwickshire)|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Monks-Kirby, is a township in Lutterworth district and partly in Rugby district, and a parish in Warwickshire. The township lies adjacent to the Fosse way, 2 miles NE by E of Stretton railway station, and 2¾ miles SW of Watling-street at the boundary with Leicestershire, and 6 miles NNW of Rugby; it has a post office under Lutterworth. The parish contains the hamlets of Pailton, Stretton-under-Foss, Newbold-Revel, and Copston-Magna in Lutterworth district, and the township of Easenhall in Rugby district. There are also non-conformist chapels within the parish, an Independent chapel, two Baptist chapels. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Monks Kirby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = England, Leicestershire Parish Registers, 1533-1991 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FMP = Leicestershire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Banns = Leicestershire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Marr = Leicestershire Marriage Licences, 1604-1891 (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|MyH = Leicestershire Parish Births, Marriages, Burials (MyHeritage) - ($)|
|TGEN = Leicestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)|
|PC = Parish Chest - ($) Registers delivered by email.|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Monks Kirby Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Leicestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.