Monkleigh, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Monkleigh, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bideford|
|Parish registers: 1548|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MONKLEIGH (St. George), a parish, in the union of Bideford, hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 2¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Great Torrington, on the road to Bideford. It is bounded on the east by the river Torridge, which separates it from the parishes of Great Torrington and Wear-Giffard. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Monkleigh, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|MONKLEIGH PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Monkleigh on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 333-334. Date accessed: 16 July 2013