Monk Soham, Suffolk Genealogy
|Monk Soham, Suffolk|
|Poor Law Union||Hoxne|
|Parish registers: 1712|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
|Bedingfield: Southolt||Worlingworth||Worlingworth : Bedfield|
|Kenton||Ashfield with Thorpe||Earl Soham|
|Project members: Refer to Suffolk Talk Page for details about developing this page.|
If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Monk Soham and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
Monk Soham, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Monk Soham, Suffolk Genealogy Online Records|
The Parish Registers begin in 1712. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanery, Parish Chest records are lacking for Monk Soham. See Suffolk Church Records for further details.
The parish registers of the parish of Monk Soham were published in 1920 and covers baptisms, burial, and marraiges from 1712 to 1919.
There are census records available for Monk Soham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Monk Soham, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Monk Soham was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
- National gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
- England Jurisdictions 1851 maps - see parish in context with surrounding parishes also determine various ecclesiastical and civil jurisdictions for this parish
- Monk Soham on Google maps - see lay of the land as it is today
| This section requires expansion with:
any sites that provide a glimpse into the past of this parish.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 03 July 2014.
- William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk; page 467-468
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
- 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.