Monk Fryston, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Monk Fryston, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Monk Fryston, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Pontefract|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Rural Deanery||Old Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Wistow|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
FRYSTONE, MONK, a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Ferry-Bridge; comprising the townships of Burton-Salmon, Monk-Frystone, and Hillam. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Monk Fryston exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|MONK FRYSTON PARISH (1538) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1538.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 269-272. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 2 October 2014.
- 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.