To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Monk's Risborough, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Monk's Risborough, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Monk's Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aylesbury
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Wycombe
Registration District Wycombe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wendover
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Monks Risborough; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

RISBOROUGH-MONKS, a village and a parish in Wycombe district, Bucks. The village stands near Icknield-street, and under the Chiltern hills, 1½ mile N E of Princes-Risborough r. station.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Monk's Risborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Monk's Risborough Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1604-1834
1604-1834
1604-1834
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1587-1874
1587-1876


FS Catalog PRs
1587-1938, 1605, 1632-1638
1587-1938, 1605, 1632-1638
1587-1938, 1605, 1632-1638
FS Catalog BTs
1604-1834
1604-1834
1604-1834

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Baptist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Monk's Risborough on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72 Date accessed and adapted 25 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk