Moldova Jewish Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Moldova Wiki Topics
Flag of Moldova.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Moldova Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moldova
Jewish Records
Jewish Genealogy Research
Wiki Topics
Israel coat of arms.png
Beginning Research
Original Records
Compiled Sources
Background Information
Finding Aids


Israel coat of arms.png

Go to Jewish Genealogy Research Main Page

Maps of Moldova

  • To view present-day Moldova at Google Maps, click here.
  • For a Jewish population density map of Europe in 1900, click here.
  • For a map showing the percentage of Jews in the Pale of Settlement and Congress Poland, c. 1905, click here.
  • To view an additional historical map showing the historical percentage of Jews in governments, click here.
    Definition of "Pale of Settlement" from Wikipedia.org:
    The Pale of Settlement (Russian: Черта́ осе́длости, chertá osédlosti, Yiddish: דער תּחום-המושבֿ, der tkhum-ha-moyshəv, Hebrew: תְּחוּם הַמּוֹשָב, tḥùm ha-mosháv‎) was the term given to a region of Imperial Russia in which permanent residency by Jews was allowed and beyond which Jewish permanent residency was generally prohibited. It extended from the eastern pale, or demarcation line, to the western Russian border with the Kingdom of Prussia (later the German Empire) and with Austria-Hungary. The English term "pale" is derived from the Latin word "palus", a stake, extended to mean the area enclosed by a fence or boundary.

Jewish History in Moldova

  • Read the Wikipedia.org article History of the Jews in Moldova, by clicking here.
  • Explore The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe by clicking here.


JewishGen.org Family Finder

Find others, possibly cousins, searching for your family name in the same countries, cities, and villages. Search by clicking JewishGen Family Finder. Free registration required.

The JewishGen Romania/Moldova Database

  • More than 900,000 records for Romania and Moldova, from a variety of sources, including: voter lists, census records, business directories, vital records, diplomatic records, yizkor books, and others. Requires free registration. To search, click here.

Miriam Weiner Routes to Roots Foundation

Data regarding locations of Moldovan Jewish records originally published in books by Miriam Weiner is now on this website with periodic updates. Contains articles, essays, maps, archivist insights, and archival inventory for Jewish research in Moldova. The website also contains a database of documents that is searchable by town. The search for documents in Eastern Europe ancestral towns is complicated, partly because of the destruction of documents during the Holocaust and changing borders and names. Only the first few letters of the town needs to be known, as all towns beginning with those letters will appear in the list. Some towns will even be cross-referenced with spelling variations or name changes. However, to determine the current spelling of a town, consult Where Once We Walked by Mokotoff and Sack (Avotaynu, 1991). The database will note the types of documents that has survived for that town, including army lists, Jewish vital records, family lists, census records, voter and tax lists, immigration documents, Holocaust material, school records, occupational lists, and more. The span of years covered by these documents and where to find them will also be provided. Records in the archives can be accessed on various websites or databases (such as JewishGen) in person at the archives, by writing to the archives directly, or by hiring a professional researcher to do the work. By consolidating data from five Eastern European countries, researchers can easily determine which records are kept by which archives or repositories.[1]

  • See Routes to Roots Foundation and hover over Moldova for a Genealogical and Family History guide to Jewish and civil records in Eastern Europe
  • See also the book, Jewish roots in Ukraine and Moldova by Miriam Weiner (FamilySearch Catalog call no. 947.71 F2w 1999)

References

  1. Weiner, Miriam. "Eastern European Archival Database Planned". AVOTAYNU XVII no. 3 (Fall 2001): 3-5.
Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Moldova_Jewish_Records&oldid=3423849"