Moldova Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Moldova Wiki Topics
Flag of Moldova.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Moldova Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Europe
Moldova
Guide to Moldova ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records,and military records.

Country Information

Moldova is a country in Europe bordered by Romania and Ukraine. It was formerly ruled by Russia. The official language is Romanian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Moldova Research

Links to articles on getting started with Moldova research.

Moldova Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Moldova research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Moldova Map

Moldova administrative map.png

Jurisdictions

Currently, Moldova is divided into 37 first-tier units,[2] including 32 districts (raioane):

  • Anenii Noi
  • Basarabeasca
  • Briceni
  • Cahul
  • Cantemir
  • Călărași
  • Căușeni
  • Cimișlia
  • Criuleni
  • Dondușeni
  • Drochia
  • Dubăsari
  • Edineț
  • Fălești
  • Florești
  • Glodeni
  • Hîncești
  • Ialoveni
  • Leova
  • Nisporeni
  • Ocnița
  • Orhei
  • Rezina
  • Rîșcani
  • Sîngerei
  • Soroca
  • Strășeni
  • Șoldănești
  • Ștefan Vodă
  • Taraclia
  • Telenești
  • Ungheni

Three municipalities:

  • Chișinău
  • Bălți
  • Bender

Two autonomous territorial units:

  • Gagauzia
  • Transnistria

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Moldova," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moldova, accessed 27 April 2016.
  2. Administrative-territorial units of Moldova