Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy
Guide to Mohave County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Mohave County, Arizona|
Location in the state of Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
|Founded||November 9, 1864|
|Address||401 E. Spring Street|
P.O. Box 7000
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Land
- 5.6 Local Histories
- 5.7 Maps
- 5.8 Military
- 5.9 Newspapers
- 5.10 Obituaries
- 5.11 Probate
- 5.12 Taxation
- 5.13 Vital Records
- 5.14 Voting Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Family History Centers
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Mohave County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse [edit | edit source]
Mohave County Courthouse
401 East Spring St
Kingman, Az 86041
Clerk Superior Court has marriage records from 1888,
Divorce, Probate and Court Records from 1850
County Records land records 
Mohave County is located in the northwest corner of Arizona, the county seat is Kingman, and it also contains the somewhat newer 'river city' known as Bullhead City, which is across the Colorado River from Laughlin, Nevada. Hoover Dam is also partly included in the county due to it being built to dam the Colorado River to create Lake Mead. The word 'Mohave' is a variant spelling of 'Mojave'.
Description[edit | edit source]
The County has Kingman as its seat and the County was created November 9, 1864. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona. Records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexico ceded part of present day Arizona. This included all the land in present day Mohave County. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 9 Jan 1852 - New Mexico redefined the boundaries of previous counties and created new ones to cover all the land within its territory. The land in present-day Mohave County, Arizona was once part of Taos, San Juan (1861-1862 only), Rio Arriba, Santa Ana, Bernalillo, Valencia, and Socorro counties of New Mexico.   Look for records in Dona Ana County, Socorro County, Bernalillo, Rio Arriba, Taos, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New Mexico Territory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 22 Dec 1865 - Arizona created Pah-Ute County (extinct) from the northern half of Mohave County. This county named for the Paiute Indians, using the spelling of that day. Both Mohave and Pah-Ute counties covered land which was later given to Nevada. Look for records in Mohave County.
- 5 May 1866 - The US removed the northwest corner from Arizona Territory (parts of Pah-Ute (extinct) and Mohave counties) and gave that land to the State of Nevada. Nevada used that land by adding to Lincoln and Nye counties. But Arizona held to its previous claim on that land and opposed this transfer, twice petitioning congress to repeal the law. Up thru 1868, representatives from Pah-Ute County (extinct) attended the Arizona Legislature. Look for records in Nevada State Library and Archives and Arizona State Library. Also the Lincoln, Nye, and Mohave counties.
- 18 Feb 1871 - Arizona discontinued Pah-Ute County (extinct). In effect, withdrawing claim to the southeastern corner of Nevada after exhausting all legal recourse. The remnant of Pah-Ute County (extinct) still in Arizona was returned to Mohave County. Look for records in Mohave County.
- 6 Mar 1883 - Arizona expanded Mohave County by adding land from Yavapai County, north of the Colorado River and west of Kanab Wash. Look for records in Mohave and Yavapai counties
See also Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.
For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
- Coconino County, Arizona
- La Paz County, Arizona
- Yavapai County, Arizona
- San Bernardino County, California
- Clark County, Nevada
- Lincoln County, Nevada
- Kane County, Utah
- Washington County, Utah
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Mohave County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Arizona cemetery records by County.
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy census records online, see: Arizona Census.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. Ward and Branch Records (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)
- Mt. Trumbull
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Recorded Land Records from 1 January 1970 to the present may be search online.
All Recorded Land Records may be searched at
700 W. Beale Street
Kingman, AZ 86402-0070
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Arizona Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Arizona, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Mohave County Miner (Mineral Park, A.T. [Ariz.]) 1882-1918 is availble for free Online viewing.
Finding More Arizona Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1959-2014 - Arizona, Mesa LDS Family History Center, Obituary Index, 1959-2014 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Probate[edit | edit source]
From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Mohave - Probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1855-1930 - Arizona, Birth Certificates and Indexes, 1855-1930 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1887-1935 - Arizona Birth Certificates, 1887 - 1935 at MyHeritage - index and images
- 1909-1917 - Arizona Select Births and Christenings 1909-1917 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1917 - Arizona, Birth Certificates, 1909-1917 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection, index
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1866-1907 - 395 marriages from 1 Jun 1866 to 26 Jun 1907 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
- 1833-1949 - Arizona, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1864-1982 - Arizona Marriage Collection 1864-1982 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1871-1964 - Arizona, County Marriages, 1871–1964 at FamilySearch. — index and browse images, incomplete - How to Use this Collection
- 1888-1908 - Arizona Select Marriages 1888-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1870-1963 - Arizona Death Certificates, 1870 - 1963 at MyHeritage ($) - index and images
- 1910-1911 and 1933-1994 - Arizona Select Deaths and Burials 1910-1911 and 1933-1994;at Ancestry.com — index $
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Online Divorce Indexes and Records
- 1877 – 1937 Arizona, Various County Divorce Records, 1877-1937 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Voting Records[edit | edit source]
- 1876 – 1920 Arizona, Mohave County, Voting Records, 1876-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Lake Havasu Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 953
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86405-0953
Mohave County Genealogical Society
400 W. Beale St
Kingman, AZ 86401
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Bullhead City Arizona Family History Center
- Dolan Springs Arizona Family History Center
- Kingman Arizona Family History Center
- Lake Havasu City Arizona Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Mohave County, AZ History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- AZGenWeb Mohave County project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mohave County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mohave County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Mohave, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mohave_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at (accessed 9 August 2011).
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 292
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1865, 2d assy./ pp. 19-20
- U.S. Stat., vol. 14, ch. 73/p. 43; Van Zandt, 158, 165; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1867, 3rd assy./ pp. 67-68; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1868, 4th assy./ pp. 68-69
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1871, 6th assy./ p. 87
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1883, 12th assy./ p. 171
- Wikipedia contributors, "Maricopa County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maricopa_County,_Arizona, accessed 23 February 2019.