To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Modum Parish, Buskerud, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Modum, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Modum Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Akershus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1680: Akershus, 1680-1919: Buskerud
Fylke 1919-Present Buskerud
Region add here
Prestegjeld Modum
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Modum
Fogderi Buskerud
Sorenskriveri Eker, Modum og Sigdal
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Modum clerical district. Contains parish registers for the parishes Heggen, Nykirke and Snarum in Modum clerical district. Records from 1712-1919.

Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Modum: 1712-1969

Modum/Heggen: 1712-1969

Modum/Nykirke: 1712-1969

Modum/Snarum: 1712-1969

Modum/Vestre Spone kapellsokn: 1901-1942

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666: Census Bragernes prosti Modum clerical district with Heggen, Nykirke and Snarum parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122968 Item 2 and online at Digitalarkivet
  • 1801: Census Modum clerical district with Heggen, Nykirke and Snarum parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122995 Item 2 and as a database online at Digitalarkivet
  • 1865: Census Modum clerical district with Heggen, Nykirke and Snarum parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 123043 Item 1 and as a database online at Digitalarkivet
  • 1875: Census Modum clerical district with Heggen, Nykirke and Snarum parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Films 255658-255660 and as a database online at Digitalarkivet.
  • 1891: Census The 1891 census search at Digitalarkivet
  • 1900: Census Modum clerical district with Heggen, Nykirke and Snarum parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Films 275118-275125 and as a database online at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farms listed in Ruud's Modums Historie: Gårdshistorien IV. in 1965 are as follows:

Askerud, Askheim, Austad, Berg, Bjertnes, Bjørndalen, Borkebu, Bottolvsbråten, Brekke, Dignes, Disen, Engelstad, Enger, Evjen, Fure, Gjellum, Glitregårdene, Gulsrud, Gusstad, Gåserud, Heggen, Holo, Holsrud, Hovland, Hval, Ilen, Jøslien, Kaldåker, Kampen, Kimmerud, Melåen, Midtskogen, Mælum, Natvet, Orholt, Pilterud, Rød, Skalstad, Skredsvik, Skreppen, Snoterud, Spone, Sporpin, Sønsteby, Tanberg, Tangerud, Vike, Øren

Farms listed in Ruud's Modums Historie: Gårdshistorien Vin 1969 are as follows:

Aamot, Aas, Aasmundrud, Amundrud, Aslaksby, Bergan, Bjølgerud, Borgen, Brones, Bøen, Dagsrud, Drolsum, Fjeld, Flannum, Flattum, Formo, Fossnes, Grøtterud, Haraldsrud, Haug, Haugerud, Helgedalen, Hellum, Henaaen, Hervik, Hole, Hovde, Hære, Ilaug, Jar, Jaren, Kaggestad, Kaggestad Øde, Kjølstad, Komperud, Kongsrud, Koppåsen, Overen, Raaen, Rud, Sandaaker, Skibrek, Skinstad, Skretteberg, Skuterud, Strand, Svenby, Ton, Torsby, Tveføtrød, Tveten, Vike, Ødenes, Øderud, Østensengen, Øverby

Farms listed in Ruud's Modums Historie: Gårdshistorien VI in 1973 are as follows:

Aasterud, Asbjørnhus, Bakke, Bendiksby, Bergan, Bråten, Bråten, Buskerud, Fossum, Glømme, Grefstad, Gubberud, Gunnerud, Gunnhus, Hassel, Hilsen, Honerud, Hovde, Hovengen, Hulebak, Klegstad, Kollerud, Kopland, Korsbøen, Kvisle, Langerud, Lerskallen, Lien, Linderud, Lobben, Lofthus, Morud, Nes, Olavsby, Prestegården, Refsal, Sand, Skibrek, Skjelbred, Steinsrud, Sterkeby, Svensby, Sætersberg, Såstad, Tandberg, Tingelstad, Tolerud, Ulen

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

Askerud, Askheim, Austad

Berg, Bjertnes, Bjørndalen, Bllum, Borkebo, Bottolvsbråten, Brekke

Dignes, Disen

Engelstad, Enger, Evjen

Fure

Glitregårdene, Gulsrud, Gusstad, Gåserud

Heggen, Holo, Holsrud, Hovland, Hval

Ilen

Jøslien

Kaldåker, Kampen, Kimmerud

Melåen, Midtskogen, Mælum

Natvet

Orholt

Pilterud

Rød

Skalstad, Skredsvik, Skreppen, Snoterud, Spone, Sporpin, Sønsteby

Tangerud, Tanberg

vike

Øren

Farm Names: Kopland, Tingelstad, Tandberg,Honerud, Hulebak, Aasterud, Grefstad, Bakke, Bendiksby, Lobben, Gunnerud, Sterkeby, Kollerud, Linderud, Fossum med Sand, Sætersberg, Bråten, Bakke, Lerskallen, Refsal, Hassel, Kvisle, Skibrek, Steinsrud, Hovengen, Klegstad, Bergan, Tolerud, Buskerud, Ulen, Lien, Morud, Korsbøen, Svensby, Langerud, Glømme, Nes, Hovde, Såstad, Skjelbred, Gunnhus, Asbjørnhus, Hilsen, Lofthus, Prestegården, Bråten, Olavsby, Gubberud, Strand og Haug, Komperud, Formo, Jar, Overen, Amundrud, Sandaaker, Fossnes, Dagsrud, Bergan, Skuterud, Aalaksby, Ødenes, Bøen, Sketteverg, Skibrek, Hole, Hære, Skinstad, Kaggestad, Haugerud, Flannum, Torsby, Helgedalen, Østensengen, Tveføtrød, Aasmundrud, Grøtterud, Haraldsrud, Brones, Kjølstad, Ilaug, Bjølgerud, Hovde, Raaen, Kongsrud, Kaggestad Øde, Vike, Vestre, Borgen, Hervik, Tveten, Jaren, Drolsum, Aas, Koppåsen, Fjeld med Henaaen, Hellum, Aamot, Øderud, Ton, Svenby, Rud, Flottum, Flatthm, Øverby

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Eiker, Modum and Sigdal judicial district
*1676-1855 Family History Library
*1676-1855 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Ruud, Arnt: Modums Historie- Gårdshistorien  IV. Utgitt av Modum Sparebank,1965

Ruud, Arnt: Modums Historie- Gårdshistorien  V. Utgitt av Modum Sparebank,1969,

Ruud, Arnt: Modums Historie- Gårdshistorien  VI. Utgitt av Modum Sparebank,1973