Mo Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mo, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Mo Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese		 add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present Telemark
Region add here
Prestegjeld Mo
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Mo
Fogderi Øvre Telemarken
Sorenskriveri Øvre Telemarken vestfjeldske
Skipreide add here
v • d • e



Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Mo clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Mo and Skafså (Skafse). They were separated from Fyresdal clerical district in 1769. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books,1724-1914.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 12: Øvre Telemark deanery, Nedre Telemark deanery and Bamble deanery. This census was taken by the local parish priests and is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digitalarkivet).
  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities and is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1782: A special 1782 census for Mo clerical district exists and used to be available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it, a link will be provided here.




  • 1900: The 1900 census for Mo clerical district includes Skafså parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1910: The 1900 census for Mo is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

7 Aamsberg 15 Aase 43 Aasland 1 Austbø

30 Bakken 43 Bakken

16 Dølo

35 Felland nordre 2 Flaaten 36 Fles 35 Flodvasheien

36 Gjuvet 42 Gravli

14 Haatveit nedre 19 Hauge-Haatveit 37 Haugebak 39 Haugeland 4 Haugen 39 Haugen 42 Haugen 6 Haugo 1 Haukaas 9 Hegtveit 3 Huso

9 Jordeshaugen 16 Jordet 43 Jordet

3 Kaasen 33 Kalbast 16 Kjønnestøl 26 Klippingdalen 15 Kringlaak 27 Kvaalen 17 Kvarvet

5 Leirbrekke 32 Li 38 Lillestu 10 Ljostad 31 Lofthus vestre 37 Lofthus østre 3 Loftsgaarden 14 Lundtveit og Kaarehommen

33 Mandsværk 4 Midbø 24 Midjaas nordre 23 Midjaas søndre 21 Mostøl 27 Murtestølsteigen

21 Nedrebø 7 Nevestveit 27 Nordgaarden

11 Præstegaarden

28 Reindal 29 Reinen 1 Rekublad 16 Ringestuen 33 Ripilen 34 Rofshus 18 Rui 32 Rui 35 Rydningen 12 Rykkeli

26 Seltveit 15 Sjaaheim 19 Skaalen 20 Skretveit 39 Slettetveit 33 Svangeheien

19 Teigen 15 Tovshus 9 Tuftene 6 Tveiten 25 Tveiten

41 Undedal 5 Urebø 7 Utabjaa nedre 8 Utabjaa øvre 4 Utbø

22 Vadde 40 Venedalen 42 Vistad

12 Øde-Rykkeli

Mo Bygdebok I, Mo sokn:

Haukås: Rekublad, Austbø, Haukåsheie, Kleivi.  Floten: Loftsgarden, Hesthommane, Skog, Sveigefitlie, Moen, Haukås, Austjordet, Rekublad, Lie, Moen, Lunden.  Loftsgarden: Nordstog, Skeiemyrane, Huso, Kosi, Nylendet, Utigard, Leirbrekkejordet, Nevahaug, Hestehommane, Skjelvik, Nyland, Plassen, Sveigen, Vik, Krokmyr, Nygard, Nystog, Strindsnes, Staksvik, Stridsmo, Vasshus, Sylverud.  Midtbø: Listøyl, Nylendet/Bastuhaugen, Myre, Hesthommane, Utistog, Haugen, Udbø, Dokkemåli, Plassen, Nystog, Nordbø, Dokki, Juve.  Leirbrekke: Urbø, Leirbrekke, Målet, Nordjordet, Skjelvik, Gjeldet. Haugo: Tveiten, Haugo, Fredheim, Bugen.  Byrte: Nevestveit, Åmsberg. Utabjå: Åmsberg, Nergarden, Jordshaugen, Semmedalen,  Nivelking, Sandviken, Espe, Bugen, Slettedalsheie, Tuftine. Jordshaugen: Heggstveit.  Ljostad: Midtgarden, Byrteosen.  Mo Prestegard: Moen, Ljostad, Presteskogen, Nåsskogen, Bruteigen, Mosli. Rykkeli: Fitjeskog, AurykkeliMidtgarden, Juvland, Åsen. Håtveit: Uppigard, Ljosåk, Rui, Sagahaugen,  Heimigard, Nigard, Søgard, Kårehommen, Åland, Lundtveit, Øyane, Moen/Åsbyggjemoen, Åheim, Betel, Lundtveit, Uderberg, Profetlien. Åse: Kringlåk, Tovshus, Sjåheim, Storås, Uppkomdalen, Tveito, Storås, Godtland, Sjåheim. Ringestoga: Dølo, Kjønnestøyl, Ringestogheie, Jordet, Kjønnestøyl.  Kvarvet: Finflotte, Staven.  Rui: Russlien.  Haugehåtveit: Skålen/Utarskålen, Teigen, Haugehåtveit, Tokke, Høymyr, Nivelking, Lio, Fjellet, Husdalen, Skålen.  Skredtveit: Jordet, Skålen, Slåtta, Skålenjordet, Lurås, Russlikosi. Nedrebø: Luane, Mostøyl, Tokke, Timbåsstykket, Mostøylbakken, Mostøylbakken, Årmoti, Sleipane, Timbåsen, Rinden, Grav, Breiland, Røysland, Steinsland.  Vadde: Aurykkeli, Fitjeskog, Flata, Dalen, Furuheim, Rykkeli, Vaddedalen, Sebersli.  Midjås: Øyuvåsen, Dalen/ Brattedalen, Langeli, Tveiten, Åsmundsdalen, Langeli, Seljehommen, Brynestøyl. Tveiten: Slejehommen, Trolldalen: Seltveit: Klippingdalen, Granarroheie, Seltveitflotten, Klokkarflotte.  Froland: Nordgarden, Kvålen, Murterstøylteigen, Reinskæven, Hovond, Brurestøyl, Goddalsteigen, Rosvad, Plassen.  Reindal, Dokki, Grovstad. Reini: Murtestøylteigen, Juvet.  Bakken: Svalhusdalen, Ramsliheie, Strandstøylheie, Vassenden, Lofthus, Goddalsmoen. Lid: Rui, Naubardal.  Ripilen: Grunnkjønnslåtten, Gamlestøyl, Kalbast, Skarestøylsheie, Svangeheie, Heimemarken, Fjøllstøyl, Tveråskykkja. Rovshus: Svangefallet, Teksle. Felland: Flovassheie, Søstog, Runningen, Heie, Drivbuheie, Sigurdsli, Dokki, Juvet, Flovassheie, Fles, Åsdalsskogen, Myklestølheie, Hovassheie, Eikedokki, Låmyr, Haugen, Ripilen, Fles, Levad, Roligheten, Dagsbeitet, Mannsverk. Lofthus: Haugebakk, Haugesel, Eivinddalen.  Listog: Kvilde, Sennesheie, Eivinddalsstykket, Våjordstøyl, Hagen. Haugland: Haugen, Slettetveit, Bjørgen, Klippingdalen, Bjørguvsine, Eide, Ormegravjore, Seltveit, Løyning, Koparhaugen, Nyhus, Brattveit, Raubekkhaugen.  Vendalen. Underdal: Dalen, Drengsdal, Underdalslien, Tortveit, Høgækre, Gardsli, Bjørnemyr, Hasledalen, Steinslien. Vistad: Gravli, Heimigard, Uppistog, Haugen, Nystad, Tokke, Juvland, Øyfjellet, Midtgarden, Bekkhus, Sørgarden, Åland, Nordskog, Midtbø, Gravhaug, Gravli, Bruher, Søning, Skogen, Flateland, Dalen, Hyttebyn, Nystad, Kårstein, Teigen, Myrbø, Brubakk. Åsland: Jordet, Moen, Bakken, Huvestad, Sanden, Moland, Skogheim, Moheim, Skogstad, Nyland, Tønsberg, Flatland, Petersborg, Bjørnemyr, Bakken, Haugsevje, Asia, Kasine, Sagabakken, Rindelien, Jordet, Vibek, Lyberg.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Øvre Telemark judicial district
*1665-1866 Family History Library

Øvre Telemark østfjelske judicial district
*1668-1845 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark vestfjelske judicial district
*1665-1850 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark deanery
*1753-1817 Family History Library
*1707-1817 Digitalarkivet

Probate Register for Fyresdal, Mo and Skafså 1724 at Digitalarkivet.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Marvik, Steinar: Mo Bygdebok Gard og ætt. Mo sokn.  Utgitt av Tokke kommune 1989

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Mo_Parish,_Telemark,_Norway_Genealogy&oldid=4203149"