Mixco, Guatemala, Guatemala Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Municipality of Mixco ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- After the conquest of Guatemala was founded as a doctrine of the Dominican friars.
- The constitution decreed that Mixco had to belong to the southern circuit of Guatemala City.
- The custom of having two mayors: one ladino and one indigenous, continued until 1915; it was called this last "Alcaldito". The majority of Ladino mayors were personages of the "Real Street", that accepted the position voluntarily by a period not to exceed a year, without salary like the mayor of the natives, who was elect by the town in the "Brotherhood" of Santo Domingo de Guzmán ».
- The Villa de Mixco rose to the category of city on August 1, 2008.
- The municipality of Mixco has a population of approximately 688,000 people
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- Registros civiles, 1877-1973 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- Registros parroquiales, 1719-1931 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- There are no records for only the municipality of Mixco. See the records of neighboring municipalities.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio Municipal de la Villa de Mixco
- Cementerio Jardín del Hermano Pedro
Dirección: 16 Avenida Lote K52, Colonia Nimajay Zona 7, Mixco
- Cementerio Los Parques
Dirección: Final Blvd Balcones De San Cristobal Zona 8 Mixco
Localities[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Mixco," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mixco. Visited 17 July 2017.