| Missouri Bureau of Vital Records
- Street address: 930 Wildwood Dr.
Mailing address: P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
Hours and holidays:
- Walk-in service: Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 (same day service is not guaranteed)
- Telephone service: Monday-Friday 8-5 (Central Time Zone)
- Holiday closings
Map and public transportation:
Internet sites and databases:
Central registry of Missouri births, deaths, and fetal deaths since 1910; marriages and divorces since 1948.
If you cannot visit or find a source via the Missouri Bureau of Vital Records, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives at Kansas City federal censuses 1790–1930; selected military service indexes, pension indexes, passenger lists, naturalizations, photos, adoptions, vital records, land, and Indian records.</ref>
- Cole County Health Department, Jefferson City, births since 1920, and deaths since 1980.
- Cole County Recorder of Deeds, Jefferson City, has marriage and land records from 1821; births and deaths 1883-1906, and military discharges.
- Missouri State Archives, Jefferson City, has court, land, military, death records, federal censuses, county and municipal records, photos, penitentiary, and manuscript records. Birth and death record index since 1883 is online; birth records 1883-1895; marriages 1827-1937.
- Cole County Clerk of the Circuit Court, Jefferson City, divorce, and court records from 1821, and probate records from 1834.
- Cole County Historical Society, Jefferson City, society, displays, photos, cultural displays, from the past, what's new.
- Cole County Medical Examiner, Jefferson City, suspicious deaths.
- Jefferson City Missouri Family History Center has premium online services for free and can offer research guidance.
- Missouri River Regional Library, Jefferson City, has Ancestry.com and Heritage Quest Online.
- U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri, Jefferson City, recent federal civil, criminal, and bankruptcy court records.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Boone, Callaway, Miller, Moniteau, and Osage.
- Community of Christ Library and Archives, Independence, books, periodicals, letters, and diaries of the of the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints/Community of Christ.
- Concordia Historical Institute, St. Louis, Department of Archives and History of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.
- Episcopal Diocese of Missouri Archives, St. Louis, a library, extensive document and photograph collections, and parish registers.
- Kansas City Public Library Missouri Valley Special Collections, The Missouri Valley Room has a great genealogy collection for Missouri and Kansas with biographies, periodicals, genealogies, diaries, photos, scrapbooks, and newspapers of the Kansas City area. 
- Mid-Continent Public Library Midwest Genealogy Center, Independence, a great American genealogy collection: censuses, MO federal land sales, penitentiary, St. Louis fur trade, Civil War, passenger lists, plantations, American Indians, city directories, newspapers, Draper Manuscripts, and KY taxes. 
- Missouri History Museum Library, St. Louis, has regional history sources, St. Louis, Missouri, the Mississippi and Missouri Valleys, the Louisiana Purchase, American West: indexes, guides, catalogs, photos, genealogy workshops. Many records of Missouri settlers from Illinois.</ref>
- Missouri United Methodist Archives, Fayette, historical materials on Methodism in Missouri emphasizing ministers.
- National Personnel Records Center (NPRC), St. Louis, federal government employee and military personnel records starting 1917.
- Ozarks Genealogical Society Library, Springfield, has Missouri and other states, a large periodical collection, and special southern Missouri family records.</ref> 
- Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St. Louis Office of Archives and Records parish christenings, confirmations, marriages, and deaths.
- St. Louis County Library, a Missouri collection including the National Genealogical Society, and St. Louis Genealogical Society collections, online databases, federal censuses, births, deaths, cemeteries, church records, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, wills, African American records, yearbooks.
- St. Louis Mercantile Library, early newspapers, railroads, inland waterways, county records, biographies, and genealogies. A premier library for Missouri research.</ref>
- St. Louis Public Library has an Obituary Index for the years 1880–1927; 1942–1945; 1992–2006, family histories, passenger lists, Heritage Quest, and Gateway Family Historian publication.
- Saul Brodsky Jewish Community Library, St. Louis, comprehensive source for Judaica. 23,000 books.
- Springfield-Greene County Library Center, for southern Missouri: censuses, church histories, directories, Civil War, online deaths 1910-1958, births, marriages, land, probate, cemeteries.</ref> 
- State Historical Society of Missouri, Columbia, census, maps, newspapers, online tools, oral history, photos, historical manuscripts, and reference materials.</ref>
- Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Library, Republic, find ancestors who served in the U.S. Civil War.
- Repositories in surrounding states: Arkansas, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.
- Harrison County Historical Museum, Marshall TX, a key repository for Missouri and Texas settlers. A major center for MO Confederates. Family folders, books, letters, diaries, journals, surname lists.</ref> 
- Newberry Library, Chicago, genealogies, local histories, censuses, military, land, indexes, vital records, court, and tax records mostly from the Mississippi Valley, eastern seaboard, Canada, and Britain.
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Information in Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (accessed 3 March 2016).
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 9th ed. (Logan, Utah: Everton Pub., 1999), 230. WorldCat 812163213; FHL Book 973 D27e 1999.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed., Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 383 and 393. Ancestry digital copy ($); WorldCat 55947869; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Vital Records in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 2 Feb 2016).
- ↑ Eichholz, 393.
- ↑ Introduction to LDS Family History Centers in Family History Research Wiki (accessed 29 February 2016).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 47 and 67.
- ↑ Special Collections in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 67. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ About the Midwest Genealogy Center in Mid-Continent Public Library (accessed 5 May 2010).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 134.
- ↑ Research in Ozarks Genealogical Society (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ Online guide to St. Louis sources in the History and Genealogy Department in St. Louis County Library (accessed 2 February 2016).
- ↑ Genealogists in St. Louis Public Library (accessed 3 February 2016).
- ↑ Guide to Local History and Genealogy Department Collections in Springfield-Greene County Library District (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ The Hulston Library in Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Missouri in National Park Service (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ Our Collection in Harrison County Museum (accessed 7 March 2014).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 39.