Missoula County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Montana
Missoula County

Guide to Missoula County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Missoula
Organized: February 2, 1865
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clearwater (ID)  • Flathead  • Granite  • Idaho (ID)  • Lake  • Mineral  • Powell  • Ravalli  • Sanders
See County Maps
Courthouse
Missoula county courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Missoula County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Missoula County was founded in 1864. The County Seat is Missoula.[2] Missoula County is located in the west central area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse

Missoula County Courthouse
200 W Broadway Street
Missoula, MT 59802-4292
Phone: 406.523.4752
Missoula County Website

County Clerk has birth and death from 1895 and land records;
Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[4]

Missoula County, Montana Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1895 1865 1895 1865 1865 1865 1860
*State birth and death records began in 1907.
Compliance for recording births was 1922 and 1915 for deaths.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Missoula County was created 2 February 1865 as an original county
  • County seat: Missoula [7]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [8]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places

Indian Reservation
A small piece of the Flathead Indian Reservation is in Missoula County. The major part of the reservation is in Lake County. Other small portions are also in Flathead and Sanders Counties.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Missoula County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 400
1880 347 −13.3%
1890 3,426 887.3%
1900 4,366 27.4%
1910 12,896 195.4%
1920 12,668 −1.8%
1930 14,657 15.7%
1940 18,449 25.9%
1950 22,485 21.9%
1960 27,090 20.5%
1970 29,497 8.9%
1980 33,388 13.2%
1990 42,918 28.5%
2000 57,053 32.9%
2010 66,788 17.1%
Source: [1]


Before Montana was a state in 1889, the western portion of Montana was included in the 1860 Washington Territory and the eastern was in the unorganized parts of 1860 Nebraska Territory. The 1870 and 1880 Federal Censuses included Montana Territory. No state censuses have been taken.[9] See links listed below.

Territory and State Censuses

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Montana starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Other Church Records
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Ward and Branch Records

  • Missoula
  • Tyler

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Missoula County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

  • Missoula Valley History. c1991. By Jo Rainbolt. Dallas, Texas : Curtis Media. At various libraries(WorldCat).
  • The Missoulian Souvenir of The National Irrigation Congress: Historic and Scenic Missoula and Ravalli Counties, Montana. c1968. By Wagner and Sevigne. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. At various libraries(WorldCat).

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Missoula CountyLake CountySanders CountyMineral CountyPowell CountyGranite CountyRavalli CountyIdaho County, IdahoClearwater County, IdahoMT Missoula.png
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Montana. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Montana Military Records.
Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Montana Newspapers.


Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Missoula - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Missoula Public Library
301 E Main Street
Missoula, Montana 59802
Telephone: (406) 721-2665
Fax: (406) 728-5900
Website
Historic Collections

Montana Genealogical Resources in the Missoula Public Library: The Missoula Public Library genealogy collection contains information on Missoula, Lake, Granite, Mineral, Sanders, and Ravalli counties, and to a lesser degree, Lincoln County. Genealogists may also refer to the extensive Montana Collection, located in the Audra Browman Room.

Museums

Societies

Western Montana Genealogical Society
PO Box 2714
Missoula, MT 59806
Website
Meets the second Tuesday of the month (September, November, January, March and May) at 7:00 pm at the Missoula Public Library. Please visit our website for program announcements.

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/missoula/ accessed 11/18/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missoula_County,_Montana accessed 11/18/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 417.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missoula County, Montana. Page 417. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 407.
  6. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 439.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Missoula County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missoula_County,_Montana, accessed 8 December 2016.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 409. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.