Misson, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Misson, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

This parish is partly in Lincolnshire and mostly in Nottinghamshire. For information and records, see Misson, Nottinghamshire

Misson, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Pre-1837 - York; Post-1836 - Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MISSON, a parish, in the union of Doncaster, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Bawtry. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information:

Misson St John the Baptist see Misson, Nottinghamshire is the Ancient parish referred to as partly in Lincolnshire due to the parish boundary and county boundary failing to be aligned. There are no records in Lincolnshire for the Nottinghamshire parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Misson parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Misson Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Misson Nottinghamshire

Misson

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk