Mississippi County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Mississippi County
 

Guide to Mississippi County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Blytheville
Organized: November 1, 1833
Parent County(s): Crittenden[1]
Neighboring Counties
Craighead  • Crittenden  • Dunklin (MO)  • Dyer (TN)  • Lauderdale (TN)  • Pemiscot (MO)  • Poinsett  • Shelby (TN)  • Tipton (TN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasMississippiCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-mississippi.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Mississippi County Courthouse
200 W Walnut, # 204
Blytheville, AR 72315
Phone: 870.763.3212
Mississippi County Website

County Clerk has military records from 1850 and probate records from 1865;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1866 and land records from 1865.[2]

Mississippi County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1850 1914* 1865 1865 1865
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1865 A fire burned the courthouse, resulting in some record loss.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1833--Mississippi County was created 1 November 1833 from Crittenden County. 
  • County seat: Blytheville[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Mississippi County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Mississippi County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1800s - The population of the county continued to be sparse through the beginning of the 1800s.
  • 1811-1812 - the New Madrid Earthquakes of 1811–1812, which created the “sunk lands” caused by water rushing into the depressions left by the force of the quakes caused population growth to stop.
  • 1833 November 1 - The present Mississippi County was created.
  • 1950-2010 - The population of Mississippi County peaked at over 82,300 in 1950. It is currently (2010) at 46,480.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Mississippi, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1865-1952 Mississippi County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1869-1906; Probate records 1865-1879; Wills 1898-1952; Wills, letters of administration and guardianship 1866-1909.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Edrington, Mabel Flanningan. History of Mississippi County, Arkansas.Ocala, Florida : Ocala Star-Banner, 1962.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Tipton CountyLauderdale CountyMississippi CountyCrittenden CountyPoinsett CountyCraighead CountyGreene CountyDunklin CountyPemiscot CountyDyer CountyAR Mississippi 1.JPG
About this image

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Courier News. Blytheville, Arkansas, United States Of America. Database created from microfilm copies of the newspaper. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mississippi County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Genealogy Trails. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Ruth C. Hale, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=791&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Mississippi County.”
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.