Mingo County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mingo County, West Virginia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Mingo County

Guide to Mingo County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Mingo County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Mingo County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 30, 1895
County Seat Williamson
Courthouse
Address Mingo County Courthouse
P O Box 1197
Williamson, WV 25661-1197
304-235-0330
Mingo County Website


County Information


Mingo County, West Virginia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1895 1895 1900 1895 1895


County Courthouse

  • County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1895 and burial records from 1959
  • Clerk of Court has divorce, probate and court records

History

Mingo County, West Virginia History

Parent County

1895--Mingo County was created 30 January 1895 from Logan County.
County seat: Williamson [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

1977 Courthouse was flooded in 1977, heavily damaging records.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WVGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WVGenWeb Archives
WVTombstone Project
Interment
WVGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Mingo County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.


 Mingo County, West Virginia Census 1900

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Mingo County

Mingo County, West Virginia Map

TrailsRus West Virginia Mingo County

Military

Civil War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

West Virginia Will Books Wills, inventories, etc., Mingo County : 1884-1911

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

. Includes marriages 1895-1926 - free.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Mingo County Genealogical Society
P O Box 2581
Williamson, WV 25661

Mingo County Public Libraries


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

The closest family history centers are the Huntington Family History Center and the Charleston Family History Center.

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).