Mineral County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nevada
Mineral County


Guide to Mineral County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

The county was named from the surrounding area, which is heavily mineralized. It's county seat is Hawthorne and was founded 1911.[1] It is located in the west central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Mineral County Courthouse
PO Box 1450
Hawthorne, NV 89415-1450
Phone: 775.945.2446
Mineral County Website

County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1911 with some earlier, naturalization records 1911-1956 and burial records.
County Recorder has marriage license applications and military discharge records from 1911.
County Treasurer has land records from 1911. [3]

Mineral County, Nevada Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1911 1911 1911 1911 1911 1911 1850
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6] There are no incorporated communities in Mineral County.

Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places

Other locations attributed to Mineral County:

  • Avalon
  • Babbitt
  • Basalt
  • Camp Douglas
  • Candelaria Junction
  • Copper Run
  • Del Monte
  • Fletcher
  • Hawthorne
  • Jaggersville
  • Kinkaid
  • Marietta
  • Midway
  • Mount Montgomery
  • Omco
  • Qualeys Camp
  • Rawhide
  • Sodaville
  • Thorne
  • Tonopah Junction


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hawthorne
Organized: February 10, 1911
Parent County(s): Esmeralda[7]
Neighboring Counties
Churchill  • Esmeralda  • Lyon  • Mono (CA)  • Nye
See County Maps
Courthouse
NevadaMineralCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nv-mineral.png
Adoption


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Mineral County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Mineral county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 1,848
1930 1,863 0.8%
1940 2,342 25.7%
1950 5,560 137.4%
1960 6,329 13.8%
1970 7,051 11.4%
1980 6,217 −11.8%
1990 6,475 4.1%
2000 5,071 −21.7%
2010 4,772 −5.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories. [8] A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875. [9] See links listed below.

State and Territory Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada.[10] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Hawthorne

Court Records

Directories

Online Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Mineral – LAND AND PROPERTY

Online Land Records


For more information see Nevada Land and Property

Local Histories

County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.

Maps and Gazetteers

Mono CountyEsmeralda CountyNye CountyLyon CountyChurchill CountyNV MINERAL.jpg
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Nevada. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Nevada Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korea War

Vietnam War

Other Conflicts

For further information see Nevada Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.


Nevada Newspapers Online

Nevada Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

  • Mineral County Death Index Includes records of Esmeralda and Nye Counties. The tri-counties were all one before 1911. Records of deaths that occurred in other places with burials in these counties, as well as deaths that occurred in these counties with burials in other places. Sources: Mineral County Independent-News (775 945-2414), Gunter's Funeral Home (775 945-2047), other death and burial records, information from private individuals

The index includes: name, sex, birth/place, death/place, burial/place, obituary (yes or no)

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records

Tax Records

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Records of deaths in Mineral County as well as in other places with burials in Mineral County. Includes deaths in Esmeralda and Nye Counties. Sources include newspapers and funeral homes. Searchable by alphabetical index.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Mineral County Historical Society
Mineral County Museum
400 Tenth St.
P.O. Box 1584 Hawthorne NV 89415
Telephone:775-945-5142

Nevada State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
Website

Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
Website

Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Telephone: 775-688-1190
Fax: 775-688-2917
Website

Tri-State Genealogical Society
ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, NEVADA
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
Website

Nevada Genealogy Network

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/lyon/ accessed 3/27/2017.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lyon County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyon_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mineral County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mineral County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Mineral County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mineral_County%2C_Nevada accessed 17 March 2017.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  10. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.