Mineral County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Montana
Mineral County

Guide to Mineral County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Superior
Organized: August 7, 1914
Parent County(s): Missoula [1]
Neighboring Counties
Clearwater (ID)  • Missoula  • Sanders  • Shoshone (ID)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaMineralCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Mineral County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Mineral County was founded in 1914. The County Seat is Superior. [2] It is located in the northwestern area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse

Mineral County Courthouse
300 River Street
PO Box 550
Superior, MT 59872
Phone: 406.822.4541
Mineral County Website

County Clerk and Recorder has birth, death, burial and land records from 1914;
Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1914 [4]

Mineral County, Montana Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914 1914 1914 1914 1914 1914 1860
*State birth and death records began in 1907.
Compliance for recording births was 1922 and 1915 for deaths.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Mineral County was created 7 August 1914 from Missoula
  • County seat: Superior [7]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [8]

Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns

Mineral County's population has had it's highs and lows through the years. The 1870 census shows there were 1,646 people, but by 1880 there were only 270; in 1910 the population recovered to 2,900, but by 1930 it dropped to 1,626; in 1960 it rose to 3,037 and to 3,884 in 2000.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Mineral County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 2,327
1930 1,626 −30.1%
1940 2,135 31.3%
1950 2,081 −2.5%
1960 3,037 45.9%
1970 2,958 −2.6%
1980 3,675 24.2%
1990 3,315 −9.8%
2000 3,884 17.2%
2010 4,223 8.7%
Source: [1]

Before Montana was a state in 1889, the western portion of Montana was included in the 1860 Washington Territory and the eastern was in the unorganized parts of 1860 Nebraska Territory. The 1870 and 1880 Federal Censuses included Montana Territory. No state censuses have been taken.[9] See links listed below.

Territory and State Censuses

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Montana starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Other Church Records

  • Clark Fork West Church: 75 Abba Lane, St. Regis
  • New Day Fellowship: 20 Big Creek Rd, Haugen
  • Seventh-Day Adventist Church: 511 Iron Mountain Heights, Superior
  • St. Regis Community Bible Church: 401 Main St, St. Regis
  • Superior Community Church: by Timberman's Park at the west end of Main St., Superior
  • The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: 12 Moats Lane, Superior
  • Fold of the Messiah: a Christian church and community, Tarkio

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

In 1906 the majority of land in Mineral County was proclaimed National Forest. There are 1,226 sections in Mineral County - of this 83.8% belongs to the Federal Government, 2.8% belongs to the State of Montana, 13.4% is privately owned....that leaves about 8% of the land available to the county.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mineral County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Mineral CountyShoshone County, IdahoClearwater County, IdahoMissoula CountySanders CountyLake CountyMT Mineral.png
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Montana. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Montana Military Records.
Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Montana Newspapers.


Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Mineral - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Mineral County Museum and Historical Society
301 2nd Avenue
PO Box 533
Superior, Montana 59872
Website
Hours: Tues and Thurs 3:00 – 6:00pm or by appointment


Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/mineral/ accessed 11/18/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mineral_County,_Montana accessed 11/18/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 417.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mineral County, Montana. Page 417. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 406.
  6. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 439.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Mineral County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mineral_County,_Montana, accessed 8 December 2016.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 409. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.