Miller County, Missouri Genealogy
Guide to Miller County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Miller County, Missouri|
Location in the state of Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
|Founded||February 6, 1837|
|Address|| Miller County Courthouse|
PO Box 12;
Tuscumbia, MO 65082;
Miller County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 General
- 5.2 Biographies
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church
- 5.6 Court
- 5.7 Genealogies and Biographies
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Miscellaneous
- 5.13 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Probate
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 7 References
Miller County, Missouri Record Dates
County Clerk has birth records 1883-1891; County Recorder has marriage and divorce records; Probate Judge has probate records; Clerk of the Circuit Court has court records. 
Miller County, Missouri was organized 6 February 1837. The county was named after Congressman and Missouri governor John Miller. You will find more history by selecting: HISTORY.
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Gerald [sic; should be Gerard] Schultz History Page (scroll down to "Boundaries" section) (Miller County Historical Society)
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Equality Township
- Franklin Township
- Glaize Township
- Jim Henry Township
- Mary's Home
- Mount PLeasant
- Osage Township
- Richwood Township
- Saline Township
- St. Elizabeth
To see a list of places in Miller County, click on [Show], in the bar above.
- Equality Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Franklin Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Glaize Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Jim Henry Township: Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Osage Township: Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Richwoods Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Saline Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
For more about Miller County populated places, see the following:
- A Directory of Towns, Villages, and Hamlets Past and Present of Miller County Missouri (Springfield-Greene County Library District)
- Historic Miller County Communities (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Miller County Communities (ePodunk)
- Miller County Place Names, 1928-1945 (State Historical Society of Missouri)
- Post Offices & Post Masters (Genealogy Trails)
- Miller County, Missouri (records in the Western Historical Manuscripts Collection) (University of Missouri at Rolla)
- Miller County Records: County Records Which Are Available on Microfilm (pdf; Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Missouri State Archives Guide to County and Municipal Records on Microfilm: Miller County (pdf)
- All of the family biographies from the History of Miller County, Missouri (1889) by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.|
- Cemeteries (Genealogy Trails)
- Cemeteries of Miller County (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Missouri Cemeteries Missouri Access Genealogy
- Miller County, Missouri, Cemetery Records, Vol. 1 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1840 Census (GenWeb)
- McKinley, Robert L. 1840 Census of Miller County, Missouri with Annotations. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1997. WorldCat
- 1850 Census (GenWeb): Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Index
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. Miller County, Missouri 1850 Federal Census. Chillicothe, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat
- Strange, Gaylord. 1850 & 1860 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 1986?. WorldCat
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. 1860 Census for Miller County, Missouri. Chillicothe, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat
- Strange, Gaylord. 1850 & 1860 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 1986?. WorldCat
- Strange, Gaylord, 1870 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 198-?. WorldCat
- Strange, Gaylord. 1880 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 1986?. WorldCat
- 1900 Census (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1920 Census (USGenWeb Archives)
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
- Miller County Baptist Association
- Minutes of the . . . Annual Session of the Miller County Association of Baptist Churches, 1891-1957. Aurora Springs, MO: Cresset Job Print. WorldCat
- Miller County Clerk's Office
- 1800 - 1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
Genealogies and Biographies
- Family Histories (at Library of the Miller County Historical Society)
- Hake, Peggy Smith. Pioneer Families of Miller County, Missouri: A Journey to the Past. St. Elizabeth, MO: Self-published, 2000. WorldCat | Index
- Gott family: Gott, Jeannette Whitten. The Gott Family of Miller County, Missouri, 1650-1992. Lakewood, CO: Self-published, 2007. WorldCat | Google Books (no preview)
- Humphrey family: The Humphrey Family of Miller County, Missouri
- Livingston family: The Livingston Family of Miller County (GenWeb)
- Teaverbaugh family: The Missouri Ancestry of Robert Reed ("The Brady Bunch") (GenealogyMagazine.com)
- West family: John Laffoon West and Family (Genealogy & History Notes)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
- Bureau of Land Management, General Land Office (land patent searches; searching for Miller County, Missouri without entering a name yields 208 pages of hits)
- Miller County Recorder's Office
Local histories are available for Miller County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.
- Hake, Peggy Smith. They Left a Legacy: Historical Stories of Miller County, Missouri. St. Elizabeth, MO: Self-published, 1991. WorldCat
- History of Miller County (Welcome to Miller County website)
- Jenkins, Clyde Lee. Judge Jenkins' History of Miller County, Missouri. Tuscumbia, MO, 1971. WorldCat
- Jenkins, Clyde Lee, and Clayton Edwin Jenkins. Judge Jenkins' History of Miller County, Missouri. Tuscumbia, MO?: Clayton Edwin Jenkins, 1995. WorldCat
- Miller County History and Vittles. Tuscumbia, MO: Miller County Historical Society, 1991. WorldCat
- Osage River Country: A History of the People and Places of Miller County, Missouri. Tuscumbia, MO: Miller County Historical Society, 1995. WorldCat
- Schultz, Gerard. A History of Miller County, Missouri. Jefferson City, MO: Midland Printing Co., 1933. WorldCat
- Warman-Starlings, Kelly, and Kirk D. Warman. The Ghost Towns of Central Missouri: Cole, Miller & Moniteau Counties. Jefferson City, MO: Ketch's Printing, 1994?. WorldCat
- History of Cole, Moniteau, Morgan, Benton, Miller, Maries and Osage counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present, including a department devoted to the preservation of sundry personal, business, professional and private records, besides a valuable fund of notes, original observations, etc., etc. Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1889.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free)
- Maps of Missouri (1804-1889)
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Miller County, Missouri. Norman, OK: Arphax Publishing Co., 2006. Publisher | WorldCat. Available online at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Libre Map Project (detailed online topographic maps of Miller County)
- Miller County Highway Map (pdf; MO Department of Transportation)
- Miller County, Missouri (maps of townships, communities, etc.; Histopolis)
- Miller County, Missouri 1857 (House Divided)
- Miller County, Missouri 1895 (1895 U.S. Atlas)
- Miller County, Missouri Zip Code Boundary Map
- Miller County Townships (simple outline map; scroll down in page)
- Plat Book of Miller County, Missouri. Rockford, IL: W.W. Hixson & Co., date uncertain, abt late 1920s-early 1930s. University of Missouri Digital Library (digital copy) | WorldCat
- Standard Atlas of Miller County. Chicago: Alden Publishing Co., 1905.
- 1900 - 1941 Missouri, Pre-WWII Adjutant General Enlistment Contracts, 1900-1941 at FamilySearch — images
- Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1861 - 1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Missouri, Confederate Pension Applications and Soldiers Home Applications at FamilySearch — images
- Miller County, Missouri Civil War Veterans (GenWeb)
- Osage Reg. Home Guards, Co. K Roster (GenWeb)
Service men in Miller County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Miller County, Missouri:
- - 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
- - 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- - 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- - 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- - 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
World War II
- Miller County, Missouri World War II Casualties, Army and Air Force (Access Genealogy)
- 1941 - 1946 Missouri, Reports of Separation Notices, 1941-1946 at FamilySearch — index
- Hake, Peggy Smith. Book of Marks and Brands, Miller County, Missouri, 1837-1856. St. Elizabeth, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat | Internet Archive (digital copy)
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1800 - 1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miller County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Chronicling America list of historic Miller County newspapers (Chronicling America at the Library of Congress)
- Miller County, Missouri Newspapers on Microfilm at the State Historical Society (State Historical Society, Columbia, MO)
- Miller County Obituaries (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Miller County, Missouri Obituaries (NewspaperObituaries.net)
- Miscellaneous Miller County Obituaries (Obit Central)
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Jefferson City newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Miller County communities.
- Obituary Records (USGenWeb Archives)
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
- Miller County Probate Records (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Probate Guardianship (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Will Book Transcriptions Prior to 1870 (GenWeb)
Online Probate Records
- 1750 - 1988 Missouri Probate Records 1750-1998 at FamilySearch — images
- 1766 - 1988 Missouri Wills and Probate Records 1766-1988 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
- 1827 - 1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851 - 1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- Missouri Birth & Death Records Database, Pre-1910 (very incomplete, but searching for Miller County without entering a name yields 2,258 birth records) (Missouri State Archives)
- 1883 - 1891 Miller County Birth Index 1883-1891. Batches C515876 and C515877 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1750 - 1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1805 - 2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at Ancestry.com $
- 1837 - 1882 Miller County Marriage Books A and B Index 1837-1882. Batch M515431 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1881 - 1885 Miller County Marriage Book C Index 1881-1885. Batch M515432 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- Barnhouse, August F., and Carl G. Kelsay. Marriages, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: A.F. Barnhouse, 1984?. WorldCat
- Hickok, Thelma Scott. Index to Marriages of Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Barnhouse and Kelsay, 1973-1974. WorldCat
- Marriage Transcriptions (GenWeb)
- Marriages of Miller and Maries Counties (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Strange, Gaylord. Marriages, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat
- 1834 - 1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Missouri Birth & Death Records Database, Pre-1910 (very incomplete, but searching for Miller County without entering a name yields 646 death records) (Missouri State Archives)
- 1910 - 1960 Missouri Death Certificates, 1910-1960 (online digital scans; searching for Miller County without entering a name yields 6,437 records) (Missouri State Archives)
- See also Newspapers > Obituaries (above)
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Miller County Museum and Miller County Historical Society
P.O. Box 57
Highway 52 West
Tuscumbia, MO 65082
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
| Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates.
Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
|Missouri Digital Heritage||Free||digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State|
|MOGenWeb||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|USGenWeb Archives||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|genealogytrails.com||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|emslanders.com||Free||identifies records and resources related to Miller County, MO and their locations|
|RootsWeb resources||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|Linkpendium||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|CyndisList||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|StateofUS||Free||family history resources and government records|
|epodunk.com||Free||family history resources and government records|
|Missouri Genealogy||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch catalog||Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Miller Missouri" and search catalog.|
|Missouri State Archives Library||catalog; from this page you must search "Miller County"|
|Google+||Missouri Genealogy Network Community|
|list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search|
|Ancestry.com||Miller County Message Board|
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miller County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.