Millbrook, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Millbrook, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||St Germans|
|Registration District||St Germans|
|Parish registers: 1867; For more records see Maker|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MILLBROOK, (Cornish: Govermelin) All Saints was a chapelry of Maker, Cornwall Ancient Parish, and fishing-village in Maker parish, Cornwall. The village stands on an inlet of the River Tamar, 2 miles, across the Hamoaze, S of Devonport r. station. It has a post office under Devonport and fairs on 1 May and 29 Sept. and was once a market-town and a borough. 
It was created as a parish in 1867. It is located in the Hundred and deanery of East. It is separated from the city of Plymouth by the River Tamar, and until 1869 was administered as part of the parish of Maker. There is evidence that there has been a settlement here since the Stone Age. In the 17th century it possessed a large fishing fleet, and the convenience of water transport led to the development of industries such as brickyards and the manufacture of gunpowder.
It is part of the St John with Millbrook United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Millbrook, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Millbrook, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 152
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish Cornwall Online Parish Clerks.
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Millbrook.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Millbrook in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. (1870). Date accessed: 7 Nov 2013.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.