Midvale Utah Union Fort Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The Midvale Utah Union Fort Family History Center services the Midvale, and Union Fort areas including Cottonwood Heights, Holladay, Sandy, and Murray.Private Consultations
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location & Map:
- 7155 South 540 East, Midvale, UT 84047
- Phone: 801-569-1621
- Please use North Door. If door is locked, ring upper door bell for access.
- Come straight in and turn right and Center is first door on right.
- Location on Map
|Monday||9AM to 5PM|
|Tuesday||9AM to 9PM|
|Wednesday||9AM to 9PM|
|Thursday||9AM to 9PM|
|Friday||9AM to 9PM|
|Saturday||9AM to 5PM|
Temple and Family History Consultants - Center
|Center Director||Alice Neff||801-255-1617
|Assistant Director||Sidney Wells||801-641-0815|
|Assistant Director||Barry Johnson||801-573-4599|
|Assistant Director||David Hansen||801-255-2253|
|Assistant Director-Youth||Elle West||801-244-4167|
|Assistant Director||Florie Fullmer||801-943-1336|
|Assistant Director||Kathy Jo Jones||801-809-7373|
|Assistant Director||Kay Beers||801-942-1098|
|Assistant Director||Dave Hopper||385-212-4677|
Classes[edit | edit source]
- Classes are listed on http://www.familyhistorymagic.com/classes
- Our Facebook page will be updated with all events as well as deals and discounts for FamilyTree prints. Tips and tricks are also posted frequently. We can also answer any questions from our page.
- We offer, what we call a Research Tactics Class, both a daytime and an evening class in January and September. This class is designed for the serious-minded researcher; not a crash course for beginners, but advanced, comprehensive instruction for those desiring a solid foundation in Managing a Research Project in Family History. For more detail about this series of classes go to: http://www.familyhistorymagic.com/Intern.html
Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]
We are in need of additional staff at our Family History Center. If you are comfortable with a computer and available to volunteer for 3 hours per week, we would love to have you, and happy to help you learn additional skills. Please contact: Alice Neff: (801) 255-1617 or 801-554-8414
Private Consultations[edit | edit source]
Beginners[edit | edit source]
Are you having trouble finding family names to take to the temple? Believe that all of your family history work is “done”? Don’t pass up this opportunity to receive one-on-one help from a Temple and Family History Consultant. Here’s how to sign up for personalized help:
Send an email to email@example.com. Please include:
- Your goals and concerns.
- Your phone number
You will receive an email from FamilySearch verifying your approval for a consultant to access your family tree.
A consultant will research your family tree prior to calling and setting up a meeting to personally walk you through a step-by-step plan resulting in family names you can take to the temple. Questions? Call Alice at 801-255-1617.
Advanced[edit | edit source]
We have started a comprehensive program for Private Consultations for an hour or an hour and a half one on one with a Staff Member. See the list below or call the center for more information.
See below for Free Consultation Sessions. These are individual training sessions where you will get personal help with FamilySearch.org/Tree and other tools designed to help you find and prepare names for the Temple. Please sign up for a 1 ½ hour session and let us help you. Sign-up by calling the Family History Center 801-569-1621. For your session, bring your LDS Account username and password (or membership number) and your pedigree chart (filled out as best you can.)
Staff Area Research Specialties
|Alabama||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Early Colonial American||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Early LDS||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|English||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Georgia||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Italian & Latin||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Revolutionary War||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Roots Magic Software||Jerry Engel||Friday||2-5 pm|
|Scottish||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Scottish||Dave Olson||By Appt|
|Spanish||Kathy Burnham||Monday||9-11:30 am|
|Swedish||Darle Taylor||Tuesday||7-9 pm|
|Virginia||Jackie Peirce||Thursday||9-11:30 am|
You are welcome to drop in at the Family History Center any time we are open without an appointment. We have trained staff who can often answer your questions and help you with the concepts, skills, resources, etc. you need right now. Also, through the Church, we have Internet Sites and Databases you have to pay to use from your home.
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
Access to the following databases are free at our Family History Center:
- The 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archive–http://find.galegroup.com/bncn/
This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.
- Access Newspaper Archives–http://www.newspaperarchive.com
"NewspaperArchive.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old—including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more—to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at Our NewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable. Try exploring above, and discover your history today!"
- Alexander Street Press, American Civil War–http://alexanderstreet.com/
Research Data: Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/cwdb/
Letters and Diaries: Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. http://solomon.cwld.alexanderstreet.com/
Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera: Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images. http://cpho.alexanderstreet.com/
Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world. All family history centers have access to Ancestry.com Library Edition version through their Family History Center Portal at http://www.fhc.familysearch.org/ (effective 2/8/2011).
- ArkivDigital Online–http://www.arkivdigital.net
ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents.
- Find My Past–http://www.findmypast.co.uk/
FindMyPast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life.
1911 British Census (accessed through the Find My Past website)–The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time.
- Fold3 (formerly Footnote.com)–http://www.fold3.com/
Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world. See Using Fold3 at a Family History Center for more information.
- The Genealogist–http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk
English parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping, and selected army and navy lists.
- Genline Family Finder (launcher)–http://www.genline.com/
Genline FamilyFinder is no longer available in the premium websites. Please use ArkivDigital instead.
- Heritage Quest Online–http://www.heritagequestonline.com/
Heritage Quest Online database is only available to those FHCs who meet certain qualifications (for more information, see document 101456).
Heritage Quest Online database is a collection of material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled. Searches include:
Census: Find ancestors in the complete set of U.S. federal census images from 1790 to 1930, including name indexes for many years.
Books: Find information on people and places described in over 24,000 family and local histories.
PERSI Periodical Source Index™: Find information about people and places from this index of over 2 million genealogy and local history articles, updated annually.
Revolutionary War: Search selected records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files.
Freedman’s Bank: Search for individuals in Freedman’s Bank (1865-1874), which was founded to serve African Americans. Includes a name index and images for bank depositors and their dependents and heirs.
U.S. Serial Set: Search the Memorials, Petitions, and Private Relief Actions of the U.S. Congress in the LexisNexis® U.S. Serial Set.
- Historic Map Works Library Edition–http://www.proquest.historicmapworks.com/
Historic Map Works is available only to those FHCs who meet the qualifications for Heritage Quest Online (see document 102048 for qualifications). Historic Map Works™ Library Edition is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 470,000 high-resolution, full color historic and antique maps. The core of the collection consists of cadastral (property and land ownership) maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States and also includes illustrations, city directories, and more. This unique content allows genealogists, historians, and academic researchers to track the "residential genealogy" of families and locations.
- Legacy Stories - www.legacystories.org
Put the leaves on your family tree by giving voice to your ancestors. LegacyStories.Org is a social network for all things heritage. Provides a secure platform to upload stories and photos and add recorded narration. The resulting pictures, stories, and narration can be linked as source records on FamilySearch Family Tree. The site offers a full suite of exciting features including:
Record oral photo narratives directly from your computer microphone
Multi-media story publisher
Social network for feedback and collaboration
Public archives to view and share stories
Five levels of privacy
The Legacy Shop for heritage replayed books, DVDs equipment, software, etc.
(The Origins.net site is available only at large regional family history centers and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.) Features comprehensive and exclusive British and Irish record collections dating back to the 13th century, as well as rare and unique photos and books to browse.
- Paper Trail–http://www.genealogytoday.com/
Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.
- World Vital Records–https://www.worldvitalrecords.com/
Access to birth, marriage, and death records; Social Security Death Index; family trees; census records; immigration records; court, land, and probate records; military records directory lists; newspapers, family histories, reference materials, biographies, wills, gravestone photos, ship manifests, map collections, and yearbook collections. Proper log-in through the portal is confirmed by a "Welcome Family History Center Patron!" banner on the web page. Also see document 111572 for an explanation of why some data may not be available.
- The 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archive–http://find.galegroup.com/bncn/
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
1. We have 31 computers, printers, scanners, copying equipment, Microfiche readers, and a white smart board in the Training Room.
2. Copies are 5 cents each for Black and White, and 25 cents each for color.
3. We have a Color Printer that Print a 17" X 24" Color Fan Chart for $2.00. Nine Generation Color chart is the most popular but the photo ones are second in popularity.