Middleton with Cropton and Lockton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Middleton with Cropton and Lockton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Middleton with Cropton and Lockton, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Pickering|
|Parish registers: 1671; Separate registers exist for Middleton with Cropton St Gregory beginning 1713|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1622; Separate records exist for Middleton with Cropton St Gregory beginning 1603|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Middleton with Cropton and Lockton is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Lockton, Yorkshire is a chapelry of Middleton with Cropton and Lockton.
Other places in the parish include: Aislaby, Aislaby near Pickering, Cawthorn, Cawthorne, Wrelton, Hartoft, Middleton and Aislaby, Middleton with Cropton St Gregory, and Cropton.
The village and civil parish of Middleton is in the Ryedale district of North Yorkshire Middleton Ryedale Wikipedia It should not be confused with the hamlet of Middleton near Harrogate in North Yorkshire.see Middleton Harrogate North Yorkshire Wikipedia
The Parish Church of St Andrew Church Lane Middleton in Ryedale has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
MIDDLETON, a parish, in the union and lythe of Pickering, N. riding of York; containing, with the chapelries of Cropton, Lockton, and Rosedale East Side, the townships of Aislaby, Cawthorn, Hartoft, and Wrelton, and the extra-parochial place of Turnhill, 1874 inhabitants, of whom 261 are in the township of Middleton, 1 mile (W. N. W.) from Pickering, on the road to Helmsley. There are chapels of ease at Cropton and Lockton, and a separate incumbency at Rosedale.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Cropton like this:
CROPTON, a township in Middleton parish, N. R. Yorkshire; on the river Severn, 4½ miles NW by N of Pickering. Acres, 3, 810. Real property, £1, 993. Pop., 360. Houses, 83. Here are some ancient British earth-works, and traces of an ancient road.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of MIDDLETON WITH CROPTON AND LOCKTON exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|MIDDLETON WITH CROPTON AND LOCKTON PARISH (1710) Online Records|
List of Chapelries in this Parish[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 306-310. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.