Middleton in Teesdale, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Middleton in Teesdale, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Middleton in Teesdale, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Teesdale|
|Parish registers: 1578; Separate registers exist for Forest and Harwood beginning 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MIDDLETON-in-Teesdale (St. Mary), a market town and parish, in the union of Teesdale, SW division of Darlington ward, S division of the county of Durham; comprising the chapelry of Eggleston, and the townships of Forest with Frith, Middleton, and Newbiggin. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Baptists. 
Middleton-in-Teesdale is an extensive ancient parish, forming the south-western extremity of the county of Durham, and comprises the four townships of Middleton, Eggleston, Newbiggin, and Forest and Frith. Due to its size chapleries and later parishes were formed from within its boundary. The Church, which is dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin, replaces one which was standing here of about the date 1160 or 1180. The later church was pulled down in 1876, and the present one built in the same style.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Middleton in Teesdale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Middleton in Teesdale Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Middleton in Teesdale on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.