Middleton by Wirksworth, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Middleton by Wirksworth

Guide to Middleton by Wirksworth, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Middleton by Wirksworth, Derbyshire
Middleton St Michael Derbyshire.jpg
Middleton St Michael Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne; Bakewell; Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirksworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Middleton by Wirksworth is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1841 from Wirksworth, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Hopton, Ivonbrook Grange, Ible, and Grange Mill.

MIDDLETON-by-Wirksworth, a hamlet, in the parish and hundred of Wirksworth, union of Bakewell, S. division of the county of Derby, 1¼ mile (N. N. W.) from Wirksworth. A chapel of ease was built in 1844. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Middleton by Wirksworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Middleton by Wirksworth Holy Trinity (1847) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1900-1912
  NONE
1900-1912   NONE
1902-1920
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Taxes

1689 Middleton & Crumford Poll Tax: Transcribed by Barry Marple and housed by John Palmer of Dorset

Websites

Middleton by Wirksworth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 306-310. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.