Middleton Stoney, Oxfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Middleton Stoney, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Middleton Stoney, Oxfordshire|
|County||Oxfordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Bicester|
|Parish registers: 1598|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1678|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MIDDLETON, STONEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bicester, hundred of Ploughley, county of Oxford, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Bicester. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The village church, All Saints Church, has a web site at http://www.achurchnearyou.com/middleton-stoney-all-saints/ with a link to contact the local pastor. It is an old church dating back to the 12th century. According to British History Online, the parish registers begin in 1598. The parish records include constables' accounts for the years 1740–57
Middleton Stoney, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Middleton Stoney, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
British History Online: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=63743