Middlesex County, Ontario Genealogy
|Ontario Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Middlesex County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 Civil Registration
- 2 Census Records
- 3 Church Records
- 4 Cemetery Records
- 5 Populated Places Table
- 6 Websites
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1869 - 1911 Ontario Births, 1869-1911 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1858 - 1913 - Ontario, Canada Births, 1858-1913 at Ancestry.com--index and images. ($)
- 1869 - 1912 - Ontario Births, 1869-1912 at --index. ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1801-1858 - Ontario, District Marriage Registers, 1801-1858 at FamilySearch — index and images.
- 1801-1928, 1933-1934 - Ontario, Canada, Marriages, 1801-1928, 1933-1934 at Ancestry.com--index and images. ($)
- 1858-1869 - Ontario, County Marriage Registers, 1858-1869 at FamilySearch — index and images.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1869-1937, and some 1939-1947 - Ontario Deaths, 1869-1937 and Overseas Deaths, 1939-1947 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1869-1938, 1943-1944, and some 1939-1947 - Ontario, Canada, Deaths, 1869-1938, 1943-1944, and Deaths Overseas, 1939-1947 at Ancestry.com--index and images. ($)
Writing for a More Recent Birth, Marriage, or Death Record[edit | edit source]
- ServiceOntario, Birth Records is the only government-authorized source for obtaining birth certificates. Go to the section entitled "Order a Birth Search". This is the most economical, searches the widest time period, and allows searches for people not immediately related. A letter of information is provided rather than a certificate.
- ServiceOntario, Marriage Records offers a marriage search option and a historical certificate option.
- ServiceOntario, Death Records offers a death search option and a historical certificate option. Also official death certificates are available to a wider range of relatives than birth and marriage certificates.
FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be available for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:
- a. Click on records for Canada, Ontario, Middlesex County. You will see a list of available records for the county.
- b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Ontario, Middlesex County. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
- c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
- d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. . The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842
Canada Census, 1851
Census of Canada, 1861
Census of Canada, 1871
Census of Canada, 1881
Census of Canada, 1891
Census of Canada, 1901
Census of Canada, 1911
Census of Canada, 1921
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records can include baptisms, marriages, burials, membership lists, financial business, and other records for a particular congregation. They may be available online or on microfilm, but frequently they are still with the local church or in centralized archives by religion. The Canadian census records asked for the religion of those listed, so you will be able to narrow down which archives to consult. For help with writing a letter requesting copies of records, see Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy.
- Link to Anglican church archives
- Link to Baptist church archives
- Link to Catholic church archives
- Link to Lutheran church archives
- Link to Moravian church archives
- Link to Presbyterian church archives
- Link to United Church of Canada (including Methodist) church archives
Online Church Records[edit | edit source]
These records are incomplete.
- Ontario Births and Baptisms, 1779-1899 collection includes indexed Ontario church records.
- Ontario Marriages, 1800-1910.
- Ontario, Roman Catholic Church Records, 1760-1923., images only.
- Ontario, Canada, Roman Catholic Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1760-1923, index and images, ($).
- Ontario, Canada, Catholic Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1802-1967
- Ontario, Canada, Roman Catholic Marriages, 1827-1870, ($).
- Various individual church records at FindMyPast, ($).
Cemetery Records[edit | edit source]
See, Ontario Cemeteries for information on cemetery record collections not yet digitized, but available in published sources and on microfilm.
Online Cemetery Records[edit | edit source]
- Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid website has a free, searchable database of over 2 million burials in Ontario. It can be searched by name, cemetery, county and town, but its references do not include dates of death. Although it does not include any gravestone inscriptions, it can be used to locate graves in Ontario.
- Ontario Cemetery Ancestory Index
- Ontario Name Index (TONI)
- The Ontario section of Canada GenWeb Cemetery Project
- Ontario, Canada Headstones.com
- Ontario, Toronto Trust Cemeteries (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Canada, Find A Grave Index, 1600s-Current
Populated Places Table[edit | edit source]
|FORMER NAME, if applicable||TYPE||
|ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???||Link|
Websites[edit | edit source]
The Forebears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Ontario, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
The current Middlesex County, Province of Ontario was carved out of what was originally designated by the British as the "Western District". The Western District was one of four districts of the Province of Quebec created in 1788 in the western reaches of the Montreal District and partitioned in 1791 to create the new colony of Upper Canada. Known as Hesse District (from Hesse in Germany) until 1792, it was abolished in 1849. The district originally consisted of that part of Upper Canada west of a line running north from Long Point on Lake Erie, in the region now referred to as Southwestern Ontario. The district town was Sandwich, later renamed Windsor.
In 1798, the district was reorganized to consist of the counties of Essex and Kent, and at the same time, parts of the district were separated to create a new London District.
The London District included what are now the counties of Middlesex, Norfolk and Oxford, which were originally parts of the Home and Western Districts. The district town was Charlotteville, but moved to Vittoria in 1815 and finally London in 1826. Also, in 1826, the townships of Rainham and Walpole were moved to Haldimand County in Niagara District because of their distance from London. In 1837, Oxford County was separated into a new Brock District and Norfolk County was separated to form Talbot District. In 1849, the district was replaced by Middlesex County.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Middlesex County has the major city of London within its borders. Other sizable urban areas are Strathroy, Mt. Brydges, Glencoe, Melbourne, Thorndale and Ailsa Craig.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Middlesex County is located in Southwestern Ontario. The County is bordered by Huron and Perth on the north, Oxford County and the east, Elgin County on the south and Chatham-Kent and Lambton on the west.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Begley, Donal. The Journal of an Irish Emigrant to Canada. The journal of Thomas Alexander Langford from Co. Leix. to Canada via New York, on the ship "New World" to join his Uncle Thomas. 1853. Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.VI.no.1.1974, pages 43-47. Family History Ref. 941.5 B2i v5-6.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
The London Public Library has the London Room on the top floor for history and genealogy. Located in the heart of the city of London. There collection covers Middlesex County, plus Elgin, Norfolk, Oxford as well as the city of London. They have books, cemetery books, diaries, manuscripts, minutes, maps, photographs.and more. www.londonpubliclibrary.ca/research/genealogy You can park on the street in front of the library there are parking meters or in the parking lot south of the library.
The London & Middlesex County Branch of the Ontario Society is located in London, Ontario. londonmiddlesex.ogs.on.ca/ Their resource center is in the coach house behind Grosvenor Lodge at 1017 Western Rd. London, Ontario. They have newspaper and obituary notice collection, computer surname database, family, church and local histories, atlases, cemetery transcriptions of Middlesex and adjacent townships, Ontario district and County Marriage registers prior to 1869, microfilm, and books and more. They also have a nice United Empire Loyalist Collection.
The Strathroy Public Library in Strathroy has a genealogical collection, newspaper collection, indexes, and more.They share the space with the Museum Strathroy-Caradocwww.strathroymuseum.ca/en/. It is part of the Middlesex Library system. Parkhill Library has microfilm of local materials. www.olco.canlib.ca/client/en_US/middlesex/
Glencoe and District Historical Society
P.O Box 313
247 Main Street
Canada MOL 1MO
The Society has the original land registry records, 140 years of transcript and Free Press, genealogical and local history books, and a wealth of local historical documents, and house family histories for over 40 local families.