Middlesex County, Ontario Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Middlesex County, Ontario)
Jump to: navigation, search
Ontario Research Topics
Ontario Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ontario Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Ontario
Middlesex County

Guide to Middlesex County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of Ontario Middlesex.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Civil Registration

Birth

Marriage

Death


Writing for a More Recent Birth, Marriage, or Death Record

  • ServiceOntario, Birth Records is the only government-authorized source for obtaining birth certificates. Go to the section entitled "Order a Birth Search". This is the most economical, searches the widest time period, and allows searches for people not immediately related. A letter of information is provided rather than a certificate.
  • ServiceOntario, Marriage Records offers a marriage search option and a historical certificate option.
  • ServiceOntario, Death Records offers a death search option and a historical certificate option. Also official death certificates are available to a wider range of relatives than birth and marriage certificates.

FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records

Some of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be available for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on records for Canada, Ontario, Middlesex County. You will see a list of available records for the county.
b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Ontario, Middlesex County. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Census Records


Year Census Links

1800-1842

Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842

Ancestry $

1851

Canada Census, 1851

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1861

Census of Canada, 1861

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1871

Census of Canada, 1871

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1881

Census of Canada, 1881

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1891

Census of Canada, 1891

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1901

Census of Canada, 1901

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com $

1911

Census of Canada, 1911

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1921

Census of Canada, 1921

Ancestry $

Church Records

Church records can include baptisms, marriages, burials, membership lists, financial business, and other records for a particular congregation. They may be available online or on microfilm, but frequently they are still with the local church or in centralized archives by religion. The Canadian census records asked for the religion of those listed, so you will be able to narrow down which archives to consult. For help with writing a letter requesting copies of records, see Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy.

Online Church Records

These records are incomplete.

($).

Cemetery Records

See, Ontario Cemeteries for information on cemetery record collections not yet digitized, but available in published sources and on microfilm.

Online Cemetery Records

Populated Places Table


1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

 Adelaide       Link   Link
 Adelaide   Township     Link   Link
 Ailsa Craig        Link    Link
 Appin        Link   Link
 Arva       Link   Link
 Avon     Link   Link
 Belmont      Link   Link
 Biddulph    Township    Link     Link
 Birr        Link    Link
 Bornish         [https://familysearch.org/search/catalog/results#count=20&query=%2Bplace%3A%22Canada,+Ontario,+Middlesex,

+Bornish%22 Link]

  Link
 Brinsley          Link   Link
 Byron       Link   Link
 Caradoc      Township    Link   Link
 Carlisle          Link   Link
 Clandeboye       Link   Link 
 Coldstream       Link   Link
 Delaware        Link   Link
 Delaware   Township   Link   Link
 Denfield       Link   Link
 Dorchester        Link   Link
 East Williams       Township   Link   Link
 Ekfrid    Township   Link   Link
 Fairfield       Link   Link
 Falkirk        Link   Link
 Gladstone       Link   Link
 Glanworth        Link   Link
 Glencoe       Link   Link
 Granton       Link   Link
 Greenway       Link   Link
 Harrietsville       Link   Link
 Hyde Park        Link   Link
 Ilderton        Link   Link
 Ivan        Link   Link
 Kerwood        Link   Link
 Kilmartin       Link   Link
 Kilworth        Link   Link
 Komoka       Link   Link
 Lambeth        Link   Link
 Lieury        Link   Link
 Lobo    Township    Link   Link
 London      Link   Link  
 London       Township    Link   Link
 Longwood       Link   Link
 Lucan          Link    Link
 Maple Lodge        Link   Link
 Mayfair        Link   Link
 McGillivray    Township   Link   Link
 Melbourne       Link   Link
 Melrose      Link   Link
 Metcalfe    Township   Link   Link
 Mosa     Township   Link   Link
 Mossley       Link   Link
 Mount Brydges        Link   Link
 Nairn       Link    Link
 Napier       Link    Link
 Newbury      Link   Link
 Nilestown        Link   Link
 North Dorchester    Township    Link   Link
 Parkhill     Link   Link
 Poplar Hill        Link    Link
 Putnam       Link   Link
 Scottsville        Link   Link
 Southgate           Link   Link
 Strathroy       Link   Link
 Sylvan         Link   Link
 Telfer         Link   Link
 Wardsville       Link  Link
 West Nissouri    Township   Link   Link
 West Williams   Township    Link     Link
 Westminster   Township    Link   Link
 ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???       Link  

Websites

The Forebears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Ontario, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.

History

Parent County

The current Middlesex County, Province of Ontario was carved out of what was originally designated by the British as the "Western District".  The Western District was one of four districts of the Province of Quebec created in 1788 in the western reaches of the Montreal District and partitioned in 1791 to create the new colony of Upper Canada. Known as Hesse District (from Hesse in Germany) until 1792, it was abolished in 1849. The district originally consisted of that part of Upper Canada west of a line running north from Long Point on Lake Erie, in the region now referred to as Southwestern Ontario. The district town was Sandwich, later renamed Windsor.

In 1798, the district was reorganized to consist of the counties of Essex and Kent, and at the same time, parts of the district were separated to create a new London District.

The London District included what are now the counties of Middlesex, Norfolk and Oxford, which were originally parts of the Home and Western Districts. The district town was Charlotteville, but moved to Vittoria in 1815 and finally London in 1826. Also, in 1826, the townships of Rainham and Walpole were moved to Haldimand County in Niagara District because of their distance from London. In 1837, Oxford County was separated into a new Brock District and Norfolk County was separated to form Talbot District. In 1849, the district was replaced by Middlesex County.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Middlesex County has the major city of London within its borders. Other sizable urban areas are Strathroy, Mt. Brydges, Glencoe, Melbourne, Thorndale and Ailsa Craig. 

Neighboring Counties

Middlesex County is located in Southwestern Ontario. The County is bordered by Huron and Perth on the north, Oxford County and the east, Elgin County on the south and Chatham-Kent and Lambton on the west. 

Genealogy

Begley, Donal.  The Journal of an Irish Emigrant to Canada.  The journal of Thomas Alexander Langford from Co. Leix. to Canada via New York, on the ship "New World" to join his Uncle Thomas.  1853. Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.VI.no.1.1974, pages 43-47. Family History Ref. 941.5 B2i v5-6.

Societies and Libraries

The London Public Library has the London Room on the top floor for history and genealogy.  Located in the heart of the city of London. There collection covers Middlesex County, plus Elgin, Norfolk, Oxford as well as the city of London. They have books, cemetery books, diaries, manuscripts, minutes, maps, photographs.and more. www.londonpubliclibrary.ca/research/genealogy  You can park on the street in front of the library there are parking meters or in the parking lot south of the library. 

The London & Middlesex County Branch of the Ontario Society is located in London, Ontario. londonmiddlesex.ogs.on.ca/ Their resource center is in the coach house behind Grosvenor Lodge at 1017 Western Rd. London, Ontario. They have newspaper and obituary notice collection, computer surname database, family, church and local histories, atlases, cemetery transcriptions of Middlesex and adjacent townships, Ontario district and County Marriage registers prior to 1869, microfilm, and books and more. They also have a nice United Empire Loyalist Collection.  

The Strathroy Public Library in Strathroy has a genealogical collection, newspaper collection, indexes, and more.They share the space with the Museum Strathroy-Caradocwww.strathroymuseum.ca/en/.  It is part of the Middlesex Library system. Parkhill Library has microfilm of local materials. www.olco.canlib.ca/client/en_US/middlesex/

Glencoe and District Historical Society

P.O Box 313
247 Main Street
Glencoe Ontario
Canada MOL 1MO

1-519-287-3897

info@glencoehistoricalsociety.ca 

The Society has the original land registry records, 140 years of transcript and Free Press, genealogical and local history books, and a wealth of local historical documents, and house family histories for over 40 local families.