Middlesex County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Connecticut
Middlesex County

Guide to Middlesex County, Connecticut ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Middlesex County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting Middlesex County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded May 2, 1785
County Seat Middletown
Courthouse
Address 265 DeKoven Drive
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: 860.344.2966
Middlesex County Website


County Information

Description

  • Named for County of Middlesex, England (now part of Greater London, England.)
  • The County is located in the south central area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse

  • Town Clerks  have birth, marriage, death and land records;
  • Clerk of the Superior Court  has divorce and court records from 1800;
  • Probate Judge  has probate records.[2]
  • There is no county government.
  • The government is at the town level.
  • Probate records may be kept at regional courthouses. For example, Middletown's probate court includes records for the immediate area.

Middlesex County, Connecticut

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Middlesex County, Connecticut

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Chatham 1767,
Durham 1704,
East Haddam 1734,
Haddam 1668,
Killingsworth 1667,
Middletown 1651,
Saybrook 1635

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. For possible town record losses, please visit town pages.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Created 2 May 1785 from the parts of Hartford, New Haven and New London counties.[2]
  • County seat: none since 1960 and the county was created May 1785.

For animated maps illustrating Connecticut county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Connecticut County Boundary Maps" (1643-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[3]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Hamlets
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Wright, Benjamin 1610 - March 26, 1677, USGenWeb CTArchives
  • History of Middlesex County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of its prominent men, (New York :J.B. Beers, 1884).  Available online at Internet Libraries, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 982491 Item 3.
  • Elaine F. Staplins, The Founders of Saybrook Colony and their descendants, 1635-1985 , ([S.l. : s.n.], 1985).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 D3f.  Also see Saybrook Colony Founders Association, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).
  • Commemorative biographical record of Middlesex County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers, 1903).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 D3c, or FHL US/CAN Film 982492 Item 4. Also see The Society of Middletown First Settlers Descendants, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).
  • J.A. McKenzie for the Southern California Genealogical Society, An every name index to History of Middlesex County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of its prominent men, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1783640 Item 4.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Middlesex County, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 18,828
1800 19,874 5.6%
1810 20,723 4.3%
1820 22,405 8.1%
1830 24,844 10.9%
1840 24,879 0.1%
1850 27,216 9.4%
1860 30,859 13.4%
1870 36,099 17.0%
1880 35,589 −1.4%
1890 39,524 11.1%
1900 41,760 5.7%
1910 45,637 9.3%
1920 47,550 4.2%
1930 51,388 8.1%
1940 55,999 9.0%
1950 67,332 20.2%
1960 88,865 32.0%
1970 114,816 29.2%
1980 129,017 12.4%
1990 143,196 11.0%
2000 155,071 8.3%
2010 165,676 6.8%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

For tips on accessing Middlesex County, Connecticut Genealogy census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Church Records

Court Records

  • Deeds and Land Records, USGenWeb CTArchives
  • Middlesex County Connecticut Court Records Directory, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Connecticut.  Superior Court, Middlesex County, Court Records, 1786-1797 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.  Court papers are arranged in several files: miscellaneous, partition of land, jurors, court expense, costs, travel and inquest.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1639454 Items 2-8.

Directories

  • Linkpendium, Directories, Middlesex County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Old Saybrook city directory including Chester, Deep River, Essex, Westbrook, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1972-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4po.
  • Middletown, Portland directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1931-). Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4p.
  • Durham (Middlesex County, Conn.) city directory including Haddam, Higganum, Middlefield, Rockfall, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1973-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4pd.
  • Connecticut River Valley directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, 1995). Available at the Family History Library, 1913-14 FHL US/CAN Film 2308483 Item 1, continues through Item 5 (1928).

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.

The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town.

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, Middlesex County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1859 , (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079300. Also available online at flickr from Yahoo, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Hartford CountyNew Haven CountyNew London CountyCT MIDDLESEX.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Middlesex County, Gazetteer, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

Ctmiddlesex.jpg

Migration

Military Records

American Revolution

Civil War

Service men from Middlesex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from Middlesex County.

  1. 1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery -  Company G and H, (Middletown)
  2. 2nd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Infantry Company A
  3. 14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company B
  4. 20th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company D
  5. 21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company I
  6. 24th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A, B, D, F and G.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • Connecticut. County Court and Superior Court, (Middlesex County), Naturalization records, 1844-1871 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Contains declarations of intent, and records of naturalization. Includes records of the County Court and the Superior Court.  For index to naturalizations in these records see: Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County). Naturalization index, 1844- 1955.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Items 4-5.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization records, 1844-1909 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Indexes are found with most volumes.  Naturalization records 1847-1859, includes also declarations of intent 1844-1856.  For general index to these records see: Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County). Naturalization index, 1844-1955.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Item 3. (4 films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization records (Middlesex County, Connecticut), 1841-1945, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Vol. 1, 1906-1909, Declarations of intention is missing and was not filmed.  The records are filmed in certificate number order.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Item 2. (12 films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization index, 1844-1955 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398614, 1st of 5 films.

Newspapers

  • Connecticut State Library holds the best known collection of Connecticut newspapers, including extensive holdings for Middlesex County. Click on "Find Newspapers at the Connecticut State Library" to search by location.
  • Connecticut Newspaper List, (accessed 8 Nov 2014).

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce Records

  • Connecticut.  Superior Court, Middlesex County, Divorce Records, 1786-1797, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.  Records are in two chronological groupings, 1786 to 1789, 1790 to 1797.   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1639454 Item 1.

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies, Libraries, and Museums

Cromwell Historical Society, Inc.
Post Office Box 146
395 Main Street Cromwell
Connecticut 06416
860 635-0501
Email: Cromwellhistory@aol.com
Website

Essex Historical Society
P.O.Box 123
Essex, CT 06426
860) 767-0681
Email: ehs@essexhistory.org
Website<br


Godfrey Memorial Library
134 Newfield St
Middletown, CT 06457
860-346-4375
Fax: 860-347-9874
E-Mail: Sharon@godfrey.org
Website

Haddam Historical Society
P.O. Box 97
14 Hayden Hill Road
Haddam ,CT 06438
860 345-2400
E-Mail: research@haddamhistory.org
Website

Saybrook Colony Founders Association
P.O. Box 1635
Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1000
Email: scfainc@snet.net
Website

Old Saybrook Historical Society
350 Main Street
Post Office Box 4
Old Saybrook, CT 06475
860-395-1635
Email:contact@saybrookhistory.org
Website

The Society of Middletown First Settlers Descendants
Middletown. CT 06457
Hal Whitmore, Registrar
1301 North Harrison Street, Apt. 201
Wilimington, DE 19806
E-mail: hbwhitmore@yahoo.com
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Middlesex County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Wikipedia contributors,"Middlesex County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_County%2C_Connecticut, accessed 7 October 2018.