Middle Claydon, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Buckinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Parishes
Middle Claydon


Guide to Middle Claydon, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Middle Claydon, Buckinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ashendon
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Buckingham; Winslow
Registration District Buckingham; Winslow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waddesdon
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

CLAYDON (Middle), a parish in the district and county of Buckingham; 2¼ miles E of Claydon r. station, and 4 W.SW of Winslow.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Middle Claydon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Middle Claydon Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1539-1820
1538-1832
1539-1821
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FS Catalog PRs
1538-1877
1538-1877
1538-1877
FS Catalog BTs
1575-1821
1575-1821
1575-1821

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Middle Claydon on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted 20 June 2013.