Mickley, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Mickley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ripon|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1854|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MICKLEY, a village and a chapelry in Kirkby-Malzeard parish, W. R. Yorkshire. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and a Church of England school.  Mickley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from Kirkby Malzeard Ancient Parish.
Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Mickley
Mickley , eccl. dist. and vil., Kirkby Malzeard par., E. div. West-Riding Yorkshire - dist., pop. 365; vil., on river Ure, 5½ miles From: Bartholomew
MICKLEY , a village and a chapelry in Kirkby-Malzeard parish, West Riding, Yorkshire. The village stands on the river Ure.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Mickley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Mickley Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 23 October 2013.