Miami County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Ohio
Miami County

Guide to Miami County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Miami County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Miami County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Miami County Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Miami County Courthouse
215 W. Main St.
Troy, Ohio 45373-3263
Miami County Website


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1853
1807
1867

1807
1807
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Montgomery County 16 January 1807.[1]
  • County Seat: Troy

Description

The county was named for the Miami Indians. It's county seat is Troy and was founded March 1, 1807. It is located in the West-Central area of the state.[2]

Neighboring Counties

Shelby County  • Darke County  • Montgomery County  • Clark County  • Champaign County


Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Census

Church Records

Lutheran
  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Piqua, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

An Index to Court Records from the Miami County Courthouse and other locations containing Probate Court Index, Deeds Index, Marriage Index, Children's Home records, Pauper's Records, etc.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Miami Valley Genealogy Index is an Index to more than a half million pointers to records all over Miami Valley not just Miami County, Ohio.

History

Local histories are available for Miami County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories
  • Hill, Leonard U., A History of Miami County, Ohio, 1807-1953, (Columbus, Ohio: 1953). FHL book 977.148 H2m

Local Histories

Histories of Miami County for 1846, 1880, 1909, 1920 and Randolph Slaves.

The History of Miami County, Ohio, published 1880, W. H. Beers & Co. is available at FamilySearch.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. Township Maps of the 12 townships along with census indexes and historical descriptions. =====Finding More Land Records===== Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohmiami.jpg

Military

Civil War, 1861-1865

Civil War service men from Miami County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Miami County.

- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company I


Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Miami County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Marriage and Birth notices from Newspapers
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

Miami County Courthouse
201 West Main Street
Troy, OH 45373-3263
Phone: 937-332-6855

Clerk Court has divorce and court records from 1807;
Probate Judge has marriage, death and probate;
County Health Department has birth records;
County Recorder has land records[4]

Courthouse

Social Security:

U.S. Social Security Applications and Claims Index

Social Security Death Index

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries

The following public libraries in Miami County have collections of particular interest to genealogists.

Troy-Miami County Public Library
419 W. Main St.
Troy, Ohio 45373
Telephone: 937- 339-0502
Website

The collections include books, maps, microfilm, newspapers, and several original local records with internet access to sites with additional records.

Museums
Societies

Schools

Piqua, Ohio High School 1919 Basketball Team

Taxation

Early Tax and Census records 1810-1840 period. Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.


Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records Original Marriage Records on Microfilm


Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1840-2001 - Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • 1908-1953 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953. Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Websites

Places

Populated Places

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Miami County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/miami/ accessed 2/22/2017.
  3. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Ohio. Page 544 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.